in ,

Boston Film Critics Society Gives ’12 Years a Slave’ 3 Awards, ‘Wolf’ Runner-Up in 5 Categories

James Gandolfini won a posthumous win for Best Supporting Actor…

james gandolfini enough saidWhat a day.  Boston Film Critics Society announced their winners for the film year with Steve McQueen‘s 12 Years a Slave emerging victorious in several categories.  The slavery epic won Best Picture, Best Director for McQueen, and Best Actor for Chiwetel Ejiofor.  The film was also Runner-up in Best Supporting Actress for Lupita Nyong’o.

Also showing up strong was Alexander Payne’s Nebraska which DID win Best Supporting Actress for June Squibb and was runner-up in Best Music.  Payne’s film also won the award for Best Ensemble.  Cate Blanchett captured another Best Actress mention for performance in Woody Allen’s Blue Jasmine who won in a (supposed) landslide.

Nicole Holofcener‘s Enough Said made an impression with the New England critics.  The film won a surprising Best Screenplay award for writer/director Holofcener along with James Gandolfini winning Best Supporting Actor posthumously.

Disney’s The Wind Rises won Best Animated Feature with The Act of Killing winning Documentary Feature.  Ryan Coogler picked up another award for Best New Filmmaker for Fruitvale Station with Ron Howard’s Rush winning Best Editing.  The Coen Brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis won the award for Best Music and Wadjda won Best Foreign Language Film.

One key notice was Martin Scorsese’s The Wolf of Wall Street missing every award but was runner-up in five categories including Picture, Director, and Lead Actor.  According to Ty Burr, a voting member of BFCS, not enough members were able to see the film which screened for them this past Friday.

Check out the full list of winners down below:

BEST PICTURE – 12 Years a Slave
(RUNNER UP – The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST DIRECTOR – Steve McQueen for 12 Years a Slave
(RUNNER UP – Martin Scorsese for The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST ACTOR – Chiwetel Ejiofor for 12 Years a Slave
(RUNNER UP – Leonardo DiCaprio for The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST ACTRESS – Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine
(RUNNER UP – Judi Dench for Philomena)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – James Gandolfini for Enough Said
(*TIE* Barkhad Abdi for Captain Phillips and Jared Leto for Dallas Buyers Club)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS – June Squibb for Nebraska
(Runner Up – Lupita Nyong’o for 12 Years a Slave)

(Runner Up – TBA)

BEST SCREENPLAY – Nicole Holofcener for Enough Said
(Runner Up – Terence Winter for The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST DOCUMENTARY – The Act of Killing
(Runner(s) Up – Blackfish, Leviathan, At Berkeley, Crash Reel, 20 Ft from Stardom)

(Runner Up – Frozen)

BEST NEW FILMMAKER – Ryan Coogler for Fruitvale Station
(Runner Up – Josh Oppenheimer for The Act of Killing)

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY – Emmanuel Lubeski for Gravity
(Runner Up – The Grandmaster)

BEST EDITING – Daniel P. Hanley & Mike Hill for Rush
(Runner Up – The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST MUSIC – Inside Llewyn Davis
(RUNNER UP – Nebraska)

(RUNNER UP – Blue is the Warmest Color)


What do you think?

Film Lover

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.

Los Angeles, Boston, and New York Critics Online Announcing – Check for Winners

New York Film Critics Online Reward ’12 Years a Slave’, Cuaron Wins Director