British Independent Film Awards Go Nuts for ‘The Favourite’ With 10 Wins


Last night, the British Independent Film Awards, or BIFA, announced their winners in most categories. “The Favourite” made a huge mark on the night, earning 10 wins. Other films, including “American Animals,” “Beast,” “You Were Never Really Here,” and “Disobiedience” all took home prizes as well. The night was mostly about the “The Favourite,” which scored Best Film, Director, Actress, Supporting Actress, and Screenplay. “Roma” also had a good night, winning the International Independent category. The full list of winners can be found below!

2019 BIFA Winners:

Best British Independent Film

“American Animals” – Bart Layton, Katherine Butler, Dimitri Doganis, Derrin Schlesinger, Mary Jane Skalski
“Beast” – Michael Pearce, Kristian Brodie, Lauren Dark, Ivana MacKinnon
“Disobedience” – Sebastián Lelio, Rebecca Lenkiewicz, Frida Torresblanco, Ed Guiney, Rachel Weisz
“The Favourite” – Yorgos Lanthimos, Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara, Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday
“You Were Never Really Here” – Lynne Ramsay, Pascal Caucheteux, Rosa Attab, James Wilson, Rebecca O’Brien

Best Director sponsored by Broadsword Event House

Andrew Haigh – “Lean on Pete”
Yorgos Lanthimos  – “The Favourite”
Bart Layton – “American Animals”
Michael Pearce – “Beast”
Lynne Ramsay – “You Were Never Really Here”

Best Screenplay sponsored by BBC Films

Deborah Davis & Tony McNamara – “The Favourite”
Bart Layton – “American Animals”
Sebastián Lelio & Rebecca Lenkiewicz – “Disobedience”
Michael Pearce – “Beast”
Lynne Ramsay – “You Were Never Really Here”

Best Actress sponsored by MAC

Gemma Arterton – “The Escape”
Jessie Buckley – “Beast”
Olivia Colman – “The Favourite”
Maxine Peake – “Funny Cow”
Rachel Weisz – “Disobedience”

Best Supporting Actress

Nina Arianda – “Stan & Ollie”
Rachel McAdams – “Disobedience”
Emma Stone – “The Favourite”
Rachel Weisz – “The Favourite”
Molly Wright – “Apostasy”

Best Actor

Joe Cole – “A Prayer Before Dawn”
Steve Coogan – “Stan & Ollie”
Rupert Everett – “The Happy Prince”
Joaquin Phoenix – “You Were Never Really Here”
Charlie Plummer – “Lean on Pete”

Best Supporting Actor

Steve Buscemi – “Lean on Pete”
Barry Keoghan – “American Animals”
Alessandro Nivola – “Disobedience”
Evan Peters – “American Animals”
Dominic West – “Colette”

Most Promising Newcomer

Jessie Buckley – “Beast”
Michaela Coel – “Been So Long”
Liv Hill – “Jellyfish”
Marcus Rutherford – “Obey”
Molly Wright – “Apostasy”

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Richard Billingham – “Ray & Liz”
Daniel Kokotajlo – “Apostasy”
Matt Palmer – “Calibre”
Michael Pearce – “Beast”
Leanne Welham – “Pili”

Debut Screenwriter

Karen Gillan – “The Party’s Just Beginning”
Daniel Kokotajlo- “Apostasy”
Bart Layton – “American Animals”
Matt Palmer – “Calibre”
Michael Pearce – “Beast”

Breakthrough Producer

Kristian Brodie – “Beast”
Jacqui Davies – “Ray & Liz”
Anna Griffin – “Calibre”
Marcie Maclellan – “Apostasy”
Faye Ward – “Stan & Ollie”

The Discovery Award sponsored by Raindance

“The Dig” – Andy Tohill, Ryan Tohill, Stuart Drennan, Brian J. Falconer
“Irene’s Ghost” – Iain Cunningham, Rebecca Mark-Lawson, David Arthur, Ellie Land
“A Moment in the Reeds” – Mikko Makela, James Watson
“Super November” – Douglas King, Josie Long
“Voyageuse” – May Miles Thomas

Best Documentary

“Being Frank: The Chris Sievey Story” – Steve Sullivan
“Evelyn” – Orlando von Einsiedel, Joanna Natasegara
“Island” – Steven Eastwood, Elhum Shakerifar
“Nae Pasaran” – Felipe Bustos Sierra
“Under the Wire” – Christopher Martin, Tom Brisley

Best British Short Film supported by BFI NETWORK

“The Big Day” – Dawn Shadforth, Kellie Smith, Michelle Stein
“Bitter Sea” – Fateme Ahmadi, Emma Parsons
“The Field” – Sandhya Suri, Balthazar de Ganay, Thomas Bidegain
“Pommel” – Paris Zarcilla, Sebastian Brown, Ivan Kelava
“To Know Him” – Ted Evans, Kellie Smith, Jennifer Monks, Michelle Stein

Best International Independent Film sponsored by Champagne Taittinger

“Capernaum” – Nadine Labaki, Jihad Hojeily, Michelle Keserwani, Khaled Mouzanar, Michel Merkt
“Cold War” – Pawel Pawlikowski, Tanya Seghatchian, Ewa Puszczynska
“The Rider” – Chloé Zhao, Mollye Asher, Sacha Ben Harroche, Bert Hamelinck
“Roma” – Alfonso Cuarón, Nicolás Celis, Gabriela Rodriguez
“Shoplifters” – Hirokazu Koreeda

Best Casting sponsored by Casting Society of America & Spotlight

Dixie Chassay – “The Favourite”
Julie Harkin – “Beast”
Avy Kaufman – “American Animals”
Andy Pryor – “Stan & Ollie”
Michelle Smith – “Apostasy”

Best Cinematography supported by Blackmagic Design

Ole Bratt Birkeland – “American Animals”
Magnus Nordenhof Jønk – “Lean on Pete”
Robbie Ryan – “The Favourite”
Tom Townend – “You Were Never Really Here”
David Ungaro – “A Prayer Before Dawn”

Best Costume Design

Christina Blackaller – “An Evening With Beverly Luff Lin”
Jacqueline Durran – “Peterloo”
Andrea Flesch – “Colette”
Sandy Powell – “The Favourite”
Guy Speranza – “Stan & Ollie”

Best Editing sponsored by Intermission Film

Joe Bini – “You Were Never Really Here”
Marc Boucrot – “A Prayer Before Dawn”
Nick Fenton, Julian Hart, & Chris Gill – “American Animals”
Yorgos Mavropsaridis – “The Favourite”
Ben Wheatley – “Happy New Year, Colin Burstead”

Best Effects

Howard Jones – “Early Man”
Matthew Strange & Mark Wellband – “Dead in a Week (Or Your Money Back)
George Zwier & Paul Driver – “Peterloo”

Best Make-Up & Hair

Christine Blundell – “Peterloo”
Mark Coulier & Jeremy Woodhead – “Stan & Ollie”
Stacey Louise Holman – “A Prayer Before Dawn”
Ivana Primorac – “Colette”
Nadia Stacey – “The Favourite”

Best Music sponsored by Universal Music Publishing Group

Aaron Cupples – “Island of the Hungry Ghosts”
Jonny Greenwood – “You Were Never Really Here”
Richard Hawley – “Funny Cow”
Anne Nikitin – “American Animals”
Jim Williams – “Beast”

Best Production Design

Michael Carlin – “Colette”
Fiona Crombie “The Favourite”
Suzie Davies – “Peterloo”
John Paul Kelly – “Stan & Ollie”
Beck Rainford – “Ray & Liz”

Best Sound supported by Silk Factory

Johnnie Burn – “The Favourite”
Paul Davies – “You Were Never Really Here”
Séverin Favriau  – “A Prayer Before Dawn”

CJ Mirra – “Time Trial”
Andrew Stirk – “American Animals”

Special Awards 

The Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Actor to British Film
Judi Dench

The Special Jury Prize
Horace Ové CBE

What do you think of the BIFA winners? Will this help “The Favourite” make a play at Oscar? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!

Be sure to check out the Official Oscar Predictions Page to see where this year’s films and performances rank among the contenders!