Broadcast Television Journalists Association Announces 5th Annual Critics’ Choices Television Awards Categories

cctaThe Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) today announced that THE FIFTH ANNUAL CRITICS’ CHOICE TELEVISION AWARDS will be broadcast live on A&E from the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Sunday, May 31, 2015 (8:00pm ET/8:00pm PT). A&E will also air a one-hour Red Carpet Special preceding the awards show.

“The Critics’ Choice Television Awards is the kickoff for the television award season and as we celebrate our fifth anniversary we’re astounded by the response we’ve had from the community,” said Joey Berlin, president of BTJA. “The television industry is at the top of its game right now and we are proud to help the public, the industry and Emmy voters identify the shows they don’t want to miss.”

Best known for the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, now going into its 21st year, the Broadcast Film Critics Association established BTJA and the Critics’ Choice Television Awards in 2011 on behalf of television journalists working in electronic media to celebrate outstanding work in television. In addition to honoring the best shows and performers from the previous season, the CCTAs also spotlight the Most Exciting New Series premiering after May 31, 2015, judging from pilots and early episodes.

The Critics’ Choice Television Awards will honor programs and performances that aired between June 1, 2014 and May 31, 2015 in the following categories:

Best Comedy Series
Best Actor
Best Actress
Best Supporting Actor
Best Supporting Actress
Best Guest Performer

Best Drama Series
Best Actor
Best Actress
Best Supporting Actor
Best Supporting Actress
Best Guest Performer

· Best Movie Made for Television
· Best Limited Series
Best Actor
Best Actress
Best Supporting Actor
Best Supporting Actress

Best Reality Series
Best Reality-Competition Series
Best Reality Host

Daytime as well as late night shows are included in this category.


Honoring shows premiering after May 31, 2015.

Honoring an individual’s excellence in the television industry.

The BTJA Executive Board includes: Michael Ausiello (TVLine), Joey Berlin (BFCA/BTJA), Debra Birnbaum (Variety), Jenna Busch (Voice.Fan.TV), John De Simio (BFCA/BTJA), Sam Rubin (KTLA-TV), Jarett Wieselman (BuzzFeed) and Lisa Johnson Mandell (Cumulus Radio). The organization currently has 88 voting members.

BTJA members will begin consideration immediately. The Critics’ Choice Television Awards nominees will publicly be announced on May 6. The Most Exciting New Series will be announced May 18. Final voting in all other categories will take place May 27-29. Winners will be announced at the Critics’ Choice Television Awards gala on May 31, live on A&E. The Critics’ Choice Television Awards will be produced by Bob Bain Productions. The Red Carpet Special will be produced by Brad Lachman Productions.


What do you think?

72 points
Film Lover

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.

Starz Releases Premiere Date and Key Art for Original Series “FLESH & BONE”

New Horror Poster Drops for ‘Sinister 2’