in ,

Broadcast Television Journalists Association Announces Third Annual Critics Choice Television Awards!

btjaMost of us love television.  The Emmy Awards are a great event every year and we’re coming to the tail end of our television season.  The Broadcast Television Journalists Association, sister to the Broadcast Film Critics have announced that they will hold their third annual Critics Choice Television Awards on June 10, 2013.

The group, in which I’m a member, has the delicate task of choosing eclectic choices to reward the best on television.  Last year, NBC’s “Community” managed to beat out three-time Emmy-winner “Modern Family” while  Showtime’s “Homeland” won Best Drama Series.  “Modern Family” did win a pair of awards for co-stars Ty Burrell and Julie Bowen.   “Breaking Bad” won a pair of awards as well for Bryan Cranston and Giancarlo Esposito.  A great get for the group was rewarding Louie C.K. for his hilarious turn on FX’s hit-show “Louie.”

What television shows do you think we should consider this year?  Read the full press release down below. 

LOS ANGELES (April 11, 2013) – The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) today announced that the third annual Critics’ Choice Television Awards will be held the evening of Monday, June 10, 2013 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

“Now in our third year, the Critics’ Choice Television Awards gala has become the kickoff for the television award season and an opportunity for the industry to come together to celebrate its great work,” said Joey Berlin, president of BTJA.

Best known for the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, now going into its 19th year, the Broadcast Film Critics Association established BTJA and the Critics’ Choice Television Awards in 2011 on behalf of television journalists working in electronic media to celebrate outstanding work in television.  In addition to honoring the best shows and performers from the previous season, the Critics’ Choice Television Awards also spotlights the Most Exciting New Series premiering in the coming months, judging from pilots and early episodes.

The BTJA Executive Board includes: Michael Ausiello (TVLine), Joey Berlin (BFCA/BTJA), Debra Birnbaum (TV Guide Magazine), Jenna Busch (, John De Simio (BFCA/BTJA), and Sam Rubin (KTLA-TV). The organization currently has 77 voting members.

The Critics’ Choice Television Awards will honor programs and performances that aired between June 1, 2012 and May 31, 2013 in the following categories:


  • Best Comedy Series
  • Lead Actor
  • Lead Actress
  • Supporting Actor
  • Supporting Actress
  • Best Guest Performer


  • Best Drama Series
  • Lead Actor
  • Lead Actress
  • Supporting Actor
  • Supporting Actress
  • Best Guest Performer


  • Best Movie or Mini-series
  • Lead Actor
  • Lead Actress
  • Supporting Actor (New Category)
  • Supporting Actress (New Category)


  • Reality Series
  • Reality-Competition Series
  • Host


(Daytime as well as late night shows are included in this category.)



BTJA members serve on four Nominating Committees – Comedy, Drama, Movies/Miniseries and Reality/Animation. These committees will begin consideration on May 1. Each committee will render its recommendations on May 22. The Critics’ Choice Television Awards nominees will publicly be announced on May 23. The Most Exciting New Series will be announced June 3.  Final voting in all other categories will take place June 6 – June 8. Winners will be announced at the Critics’ Choice Television Awards gala on June 10.

About BTJA

The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) is a partner organization to the Broadcast Film Critics Association. BTJA includes TV, radio and Internet journalists who cover television on a regular basis. For more information,


What do you think?

Film Lover

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.

Awards Profile: Captain Phillips

First Trailer for ‘The Way, Way Back,’ Starring Steve Carell