Bong Joon-Ho (Photo Credit: Guillaume Horcajuelo/EPA )

The 2019 Cannes Film Festival concluded with its awards ceremony over the weekend and some big wins were recognized. South Korean director Bong Joon-ho (“Okja,” “Snowpiercer,” “The Host”) took home the prestigious Palme d’Or for his film “Parasite.” This marks the director’s seventh feature film outing and makes for an exceptional pivot forward into the midyear movie circuit. The jury, comprised of Alejandro Gonzalez Iñárritu, Elle Fanning, Yorgos Lanthimos, Kelly Reichardt, Robin Campillo and Pawel Pawlikowski, all voted unanimously on Joon-ho’s film.

From an article by Variety:

Explaining the group’s collective enthusiasm for “Parasite” at the post-ceremony press conference, Iñárritu said, “We all shared the mystery of the unexpected way this film took us through different genres and spoke in a funny, humorous, tender way — with no judgment — of something so relevant and urgent, so global in such a local film, with such a beautiful efficiency of media, and an understanding of what film really is. We were all fascinated when we saw it, and it kept growing and growing: that’s why it was a unanimous decision.”

Antonio Banderas, who stars in Pedro Almodóvar‘s deeply personal “Pain and Glory,” won for best actor in competition. Banderas, who’s collaborated with Almodóvar in eight films now, can sit comfortably as the film raves the leading man’s performance, which can later translate into the actor’s first Oscar nomination. Mati Diop won the Grand Prix for her film “Atlantics,” a romance set among uncommon supernatural forces. Diop is also the first Black female filmmaker to have a project featured at Cannes Film Festival. French filmmaker and writer Céline Sciamma took home the screenplay prize for her lesbian romance drama “Portrait of a Lady on Fire.”

Check out the full list of winners out of Cannes below.

Antonio Banderas in “Pain and Glory”


Palme d’Or: “Parasite,” Bong Joon-ho
Grand Prix: “Atlantics,” Mati Diop
Director: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, “Young Ahmed”
Actor: Antonio Banderas, “Pain and Glory”
Actress: Emily Beecham, “Little Joe”
Jury Prize — TIE: “Les Misérables,” Ladj Ly; “Bacurau,” Kleber Mendonça Filho and Juliano Dornelles
Screenplay: Céline Sciamma, “Portrait of a Lady on Fire”
Special Mention: “It Must Be Heaven,” Elia Suleiman


Camera d’Or: “Our Mothers,” Cesar Diaz
Short Films Palme d’Or: “The Distance Between the Sky and Us,” Vasilis Kekatos
Short Films Special Mention: “Monster God,” Agustina San Martin
Golden Eye Documentary Prize: “For Sama”
Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Hidden Life,” Terrence Malick
Queer Palm: “Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” Céline Sciamma

“Portrait of a Lady on Fire”


Un Certain Regard Award: “The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão,” Karim Aïnouz
Jury Prize: “Fire Will Come,” Oliver Laxe
Best Director: Kantemir Balagov, “Beanpole”
Best Performance: Chiara Mastroianni, “On a Magical Night”
Special Jury Prize: Albert Serra, “Liberté”
Special Jury Mention “Joan of Arc,” Bruno Dumont
Coup de Coeur Award: “A Brother’s Love,” Monia Chokri; “The Climb,” Michael Angelo Covino


Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “An Easy Girl,” Rebecca Zlotowski
Europa Cinemas Label: “Alice and the Mayor,” Nicolas Parisier
Illy Short Film Award: “Stay Awake, Be Ready,” An Pham Thien


Nespresso Grand Prize: “I Lost My Body,” Jérémy Clapin
Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: César Díaz, “Our Mothers”
GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: The Jokers Films, French distributor for “Vivarium” by Lorcan Finnegan
Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Ingvar E. Sigurðsson, “A White, White Day”

Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film: “She Runs,” Qiu Yang
Canal Plus Award for Short Film: “Ikki Illa Meint,” Andrias Høgenni

Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson star in Robert Eggers’ “The Lighthouse”


Competition: “It Must Be Heaven” (Elia Suleiman)
Un Certain Regard: “Beanpole” (Kantemir Balagov)
Directors’ Fortnight/Critics’ Week: “The Lighthouse” (Robert Eggers)


First Prize: “Mano a Mano,” Louise Courvoisier
Second Prize: “Hiéu,” Richard Van
Third Prize — TIE: “Ambience,” Wisam Al Jafari; “Duszyczka” (The Little Soul), Barbara Rupik

What do you think of the winners out of Cannes Film Festival? Which films will you keep your eye on this year? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below!