CSA_Logos_RGB-PURPLEHOLLYWOOD, CA (January 6, 2015) – The Casting Society of America (CSA) has unveiled its feature film nominees for the 30th Annual Artios Awards. Final film ballots have been distributed and votes can be entered at, through Monday, January 12th. All winners for film, television, theater and new media categories will be announced at the 30th Annual Artios Awards on January 22, 2015, during the height of awards season, with award ceremonies to be held simultaneously at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles (reception will commence at 6:00 p.m. PT) and at 42WEST (formerly XL Nightclub), Cabaret & Lounge (514 West 42nd Street) in New York (reception will commence at 6:00 p.m. ET).

The bicoastal awards show will be hosted by Patton Oswalt (Los Angeles) and Michael Urie (New York City). The evening will also honor two-time Academy Award®-nominee Richard Linklater (Boyhood) with the Career Achievement Award; Academy Award®-nominated and Emmy Award®-winning director Rob Marshall (Into the Woods) with the New York Apple Award; and Emmy Award®-winning casting director Ellen Lewis with the Hoyt Bowers Award.

Francine Maisler leads the film contenders with four nominations for her work in casting: Into the Woods, Birdman, 12 Years a Slave and Captain Phillips. Due to the Artios Awards date change this year, the eligibility period for film projects was expanded for this award ceremony only, to include films released theatrically from July 1, 2013 through December 31, 2014.

Across all categories, James Calleri leads with eight nominations (theater categories), followed by Bernard Telsey (television, theater and film categories) and Daniel Swee (theater categories) with seven nominations each.

Feature film nominees announced today include:

Big Budget Comedy

  • Guardians of the Galaxy – Sarah Finn, Reg Poerscout-Edgerton, Tamara Hunter (Associate)
  • Into The Woods – Francine Maisler, Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield
  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty – Rachel Tenner, Charlene Lee (Associate), Bess Fifer (Associate)
  • This is Where I Leave You – Cindy Tolan, Adam Caldwell (Associate)
  • We’re the Millers – Lisa Beach, Sarah Katzman, Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location Casting), Jeremy Gordon (Associate), Beth Lipari (Associate), Dana Salerno (Associate)
  • The Wolf of Wall Street – Ellen Lewis

Big Budget Drama

  • 12 Years a Slave – Francine Maisler, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting), Melissa Kostenbauder (Associate)
  • American Hustle – Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Angela Peri (Location Casting)
  • Captain Phillips – Francine Maisler, Donna M. Belajac (Location Casting)
  • Foxcatcher – Jeanne McCarthy, Rori Bergman (Location Casting), Donna M. Belajac (Location Casting), Matthew Maisto (Associate)
  • Gone Girl – Laray Mayfield, Annie Hamilton (Location Casting)
  • Selma – Aisha Coley, Robyn Owen (Associate)

Studio or Independent Comedy

  • Big Eyes – Jeanne McCarthy, Nicole Abellera, Coreen Mayrs (Location Casting), Heike Brandstatter (Location Casting)
  • Chef – Sarah Finn, Tamara Hunter (Associate)
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel – Douglas Aibel, Jina Jay, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)
  • Pride – Fiona Weir
  • St. Vincent – Laura Rosenthal
  • Top Five – Victoria Thomas, Matthew Maisto (Associate)

Studio or Independent Drama

  • Birdman – Francine Maisler
  • Blue Jasmine – Juliet Taylor, Patricia DiCerto, Nina Henninger (Location Casting)
  • Dallas Buyers Club – Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Rich Delia, Tracy Kilpatrick (Location Casting), Allison Estrin (Associate)
  • Inside Llewyn Davis – Ellen Chenoweth, Amelia McCarthy (Associate)
  • The Theory of Everything – Nina Gold
  • Whiplash – Terri Taylor

Low Budget Comedy

  • Adult World – Jennifer Euston
  • Believe Me – JC Cantu, Beth Sepko (Location Casting)
  • Dear White People – Kim Taylor-Coleman
  • The Double – Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)
  • Space Station 76 – Eric Souliere
  • Two Night Stand – Angela Demo, Julie Schubert (Location Casting)

Low Budget Drama

  • Boyhood – Beth Sepko
  • Cake – Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham
  • Camp X-Ray – Richard Hicks
  • Lonely Boy – Howard Meltzer
  • Short Term 12 – Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Rich Delia, Allison Estrin (Associate)
  • The Spectacular Now – Angela Demo, Tracy Kilpatrick (Location Casting)


  • Big Hero 6 – Jamie Sparer Roberts
  • The Book of Life – Christian Kaplan
  • Frozen – Jamie Sparer Roberts
  • Monsters University – Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon
  • Planes – Jason Henkel
  • Rio 2 – Christian Kaplan

Past Artios Award winners include the casting directors of: Silver Linings Playbook, Argo, The King’s Speech, The Social Network, Girls, Homeland, Modern Family, The Mindy Project, House of Cards, The Book of Mormon and Carousel. Previous attendees and presenters have included critically acclaimed talent, such as: Ben Affleck, Jennifer Garner, J.J. Abrams, Neil Patrick Harris, Jake Gyllenhaal, Chris Pine, Kerry Washington, Jeremy Renner, Diane Lane, Aisha Tyler and Marg Helgenberger. ‘Artios’ is an ancient Greek word meaning ‘perfectly fitted’ and the adjective is always used in the plural form.

About the Casting Society of America

The Casting Society of America (CSA) was founded in February of 1982 with the intention of establishing a recognized standard of professionalism in the casting field and providing its members with a support organization to further their goals and protect their common interests. CSA currently boasts more than 600 members. CSA Casting Directors and Associates work around the world, with members based in the United States, Canada, Europe, Australia and Africa. The CSA is a global resource for producers, directors and creative teams seeking casting professionals, while promoting the image of casting directors and associates worldwide, engaging in a number of charitable activities, and supporting its members by sharing important and helpful professional information. For more information on the Casting Society of America, please visit

What do you think?

Film Lover

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.

Oscar Circuit: ‘American Sniper’ and ‘Nightcrawler’ Enter Best Picture Race, ‘Selma’ Still In It to Win It

Carrie Fisher to Present the SAG 51st Life Achievement Award to Debbie Reynolds