Casting Society of America Announces 31st Annual Artios Awards Honorees including Danny Boyle


dannyboyleHOLLYWOOD, CA (November 12, 2015) – The Casting Society of America (CSA) will honor the recipients of its three major annual special awards at the 31st Artios Awards gala on January 21, 2016. The recipients are director Danny Boyle (“Steve Jobs,” “Slumdog Millionaire”) for the Career Achievement Award, casting director Bernard Telsey (“Into The Woods,” “Ricki and the Flash,” “Wicked”) with the Hoyt Bowers Award, and writer-producers Michelle and Robert King (“The Good Wife”) with the New York Apple Award.

The bi-coastal Artios Awards ceremonies will take place simultaneously in Los Angeles and New York City at the Beverly Hilton Hotel and Hard Rock Café, respectively.

“We’re thrilled to honor Danny Boyle, Michelle and Robert King, and Bernard Telsey at the 2016 Artios Awards. What’s most impressive with this year’s list of honorees is the sheer scope of their contributions to the entertainment industry. Across Film, Television and Theatre, they’ve shown us that a career full of quality work is possible, with their deep understanding and commitment to the craft of casting”, said Richard Hicks, President of the Casting Society of America.

Acclaimed Director and Producer Danny Boyle will receive the Artios Career Achievement Award in recognition of his contributions to film and television, and for his longstanding creative collaborations with some of the pre-eminent casting directors working today.  As the director and producer of “Slumdog Millionaire” Boyle earned top honors, becoming one of only eight directors to ever win the Golden Globe, Director’s Guild Award, BAFTA and Academy Award for the same movie. The film won eight Academy Awards in total. Boyle won an Emmy Award for Outstanding Art Direction for the 2012 London Olympic Opening Ceremony and in 2010 he directed “127 Hours”, which earned six Oscar nominations. Boyle’s impressive filmography also includes groundbreaking work in “Trainspotting” and “28 Days Later.” Boyle has consistently worked with top-tier actors, including Leonardo DiCaprio, James Franco, Ewan McGregor and Michael Fassbender.  His most recent directorial project is the critically acclaimed film “Steve Jobs,” starring Michael Fassbender, Seth Rogen and Kate Winslet.

Michelle and Robert King will be honored with the New York Apple Award, recognizing individuals who have made special contributions to the New York entertainment industry through their collaboration with casting directors. Michelle and Robert King are the talented husband and wife writing duo who created the Golden Globe and Emmy Award-winning series, “The Good Wife,” for  which they are also credited as Executive Producers.

Bernard Telsey will accept the Hoyt Bowers Award, honoring esteemed casting professionals who have elevated the casting profession by embodying the unique spirit, ideals and creativity of famed casting director, Hoyt Bowers. Telsey has spent more than 30 years casting some of the most recognized and acclaimed productions in Broadway history including RentHairsprayWicked, and Hamilton. Film and television credits include “The Intern,” “Margin Call,” (Independent Spirit Award), “Rachel Getting Married,” and “The Big C” (Emmy nomination). He is New York Vice President of CSA, serves on the board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and is a co-artistic director/founder of MCC Theater.

Last year, the Career Achievement honor was received by Academy Award-nominee Richard Linklater (“Boyhood”)Emmy Award-winning casting director Ellen Lewis took home the Hoyt Bowers Award, and Academy Award-nominated and Emmy Award-winning director Rob Marshall (“Into The Woods”) accepted the New York Apple Award.

CSA has already named its nominees for the 31st Annual Artios Awards in the categories of television, theater, web series and short film. The full list of nominees can be found, here. Final ballots have been collected for these categories and winners will be announced at the awards gala in January.

Feature film submissions for the 2016 Artios Awards will open on Monday, November 9th.

The key dates for the Feature film category are below:

Thursday, November 12 – Submissions Open

Friday, December 11 – Submissions Close

Thursday, December 17 – First-Round Ballots Open

Sunday, January 3 – First-Round Ballots Close

Tuesday, January 5 – Second-Round Ballots Open

Monday, January 11 – Second-Round Ballots Close

# # #

About the Artios Awards

Presented annually, the Artios Awards are given to CSA members using the criteria of originality, creativity and contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project. Named for the Greek word meaning “perfectly fitted,” the Artios Awards were first given in 1985 to honor excellence in casting and the ceremony was held at the Crystal Room of the Beverly Hills Hotel, with 500 industry leaders in attendance. The New York awards were first given in 1988.

About the Casting Society of America

The Casting Society of America (CSA) was founded in February of 1982 with the intention of establishing a recognized standard of professionalism in the casting field and providing its members with a support organization to further their goals and protect their common interests. CSA currently boasts more than 650 members. CSA Casting Directors and Associates work around the world, with members based in the United States, Canada, Europe, Australia and Africa. The CSA is a global resource for producers, directors and creative teams seeking casting professionals, while promoting the image of casting directors and associates worldwide, engaging in a number of charitable activities, and supporting its members by sharing important and helpful professional information. For more information on the Casting Society of America, please visit

Previous articleIs ‘Steve Jobs’ Going the Way of ‘About Schmidt’ With the Oscars or Is It Fluff?
Next article‘The Big Bang Theory’ Recap – 9.08: The Mystery Date Observation
Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.