Costume Designers Guild Bestows ‘Black Panther’ and ‘The Favourite’ With Top Honors


The Costume Designers Guild, the last industry guild to present their yearly awards, announced their winners last night. Chief among them were “Black Panther” and “The Favourite” winning two of the film prizes. “Black Panther” managed to take home the award for Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film. Meanwhile, “The Favourite” won for Excellence in Period Film.

Going into Oscar night, the award for Best Costume Design is a definite battle between both films. However, “Crazy Rich Asians” picked up its own piece of hardware. The acclaimed comedy isn’t an Oscar nominee for Best Costume Design. But it still won the award for Excellence in Contemporary Film.

Meanwhile, on the television side, “Westworld” and “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” were among the winners. The former won for sci-fi television while the latter won for period television.

In addition, Ruth E. Carter was honored with the Career Achievement Award. Since she’s an Oscar nominee for “Black Panther,” this only adds to her winning narrative. Also, Glenn Close received the Spotlight Award while Ryan Murphy received the Distinguished Collaborator Award.

The winners can be seen below. Also, the full list of nominees can be seen by clicking on this link.

2019 Costume Designers Guild (CDG) Awards Winners:

Excellence in Contemporary Film:

“Crazy Rich Asians” (Mary E. Vogt)

Excellence in Period Film:

“The Favourite” (Sandy Powell)

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film:

“Black Panther” (Ruth E. Carter)

Excellence in Contemporary Television:

“The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story” (Lou Eyrich & Allison Leach)

Excellence in Period Television:

“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Donna Zakowska)

Excellence in Sci-Fi Television:

“Westworld” (Sharen Davis)

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television:

“RuPaul’s Drag Race” (Zaldy Goco)

Excellence in Short Form Design:

Childish Gambino- “This is America,” music video (Natasha Newman-Thomas)

Spotlight Award:

Glenn Close

Distinguished Collaborator Award:

Ryan Murphy

Career Achievement Award:

Ruth E. Carter

Distinguished Service Award:

Betty Pecha Madden

What do you think of the CDG Awards winners? Please share your thoughts in the comments section!