Costume Designers Guild Winners – ‘Hidden Figures’ Upsets ‘Jackie’; ‘La La Land’ Takes Contemporary

Hidden Figures
Mary Jackson (Janelle Monae, left), Katherine Johnson (Taraji P. Henson) and Dorothy Vaughn (Octavia Spencer) celebrate their stunning achievements in one of the greatest operations in history. Photo Credit: Hopper Stone.

The Costume Designers Guild announced their winners Tuesday. “Hidden Figures” upset what some consider to be the Oscar frontrunner for costumes, “Jackie,” for Excellence in Period Film. It also bested “Florence Foster Jenkins,” also nominated at the Oscars (“Hidden Figures” is not). “La La Land,” as expected, took Excellence in Contemporary Film. Meanwhile, “Doctor Strange” won Excellence in Fantasy Film, besting the Oscar-nominated “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.”

The guild, unlike the Academy, breaks its nominees into groups. These include Contemporary, Period and Fantasy Film categories. The group also honors TV and short-form work.

“This is Us” star Mandy Moore hosted the awards event.

Check out the full list of nominees and winners (in RED) below.

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie – Rebecca Hale

Captain Fantastic – Courtney Hoffman

La La Land – Mary Zophres – WINNER

Lion – Cappi Ireland

Nocturnal Animals – Arianne Phillips

Excellence in Period Film

The Dressmaker – Marion Boyce, Margot Wilson

Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle

Hail, Caesar! – Mary Zophres

Hidden Figures – Renee Ehrlich Kalfus – WINNER

Jackie – Madeline Fontaine

Excellence in Fantasy Film

Doctor Strange – Alexandra Byrne – WINNER

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood

Kubo and the Two Strings – Deborah Cook

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Colleen Atwood

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – David Crossman, Glyn Dillion

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series

American Horror Story: Roanoke – Lou Eyrich, Helen Huang – WINNER

Empire – Paolo Nieddu

Grace & Frankie – Allyson B. Fanger

House of Cards – Johanna Argan, Kemal Harris

Transparent – Marie Schley

Outstanding Period Television Series

The Crown – Michele Clapton – WINNER

Penny Dreadful – Gabriella Pescucci

Stranger Things, Series – Kimberly Adams, Malgosia Turzanska

Westworld, Pilot – Trish Summerville

Westworld, Series – Ane Crabtree

Outstanding Fantasy Television Series

Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton, April Ferry – WINNER

The Man in the High Castle – J.R. Hawbaker

Once Upon a Time – Eduardo Castro

Sleepy Hollow – Mairi Chisholm

The Walking Dead – Eulyn C. Womble

Excellence in Short Form Design

Beyoncé: “Hold Up” – B. Åkerlund

Dos Equis: “The Most Interesting Man in the World – Mission to Mars” – Julie Vogel

Dos Equis: “The New Most Interesting Man in the World Traverses the Sand and the Serengeti” – Liz Botes

H&M: “Come Together” featuring Adrien Brody, directed by Wes Anderson – Milena Canonero

Pepsi: “Momotaro” Episode Four, featuring Jude Law — Ami Goodheart – WINNER

Tell us: What do you think of the Costume Designers Guild’s nominations? Let us know in the comments below!