Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Goes for ‘Birdman’ and Reese Witherspoon

wild reeseThanks to Will Mavity for these:

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association voted the backstage drama BIRDMAN as the best film of 2014, according to the results of its 21st annual critics’ poll released today.

Rounding out the composite list of the top 10 films of the year were BOYHOOD (2), THE IMITATION GAME (3), THE THEORY OF EVERYTHING (4), THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL (5), WHIPLASH (6), GONE GIRL (7), SELMA (8), WILD (9) and NIGHTCRAWLER (10).

For Best Actor, the association named Michael Keaton for BIRDMAN. Runners-up included Eddie Redmayne for THE THEORY OF EVERYTHING (2), Benedict Cumberbatch for THE IMITATION GAME (3), Jake Gyllenhaal for NIGHTCRAWLER (4) and Timothy Spall for MR. TURNER (5).

Reese Witherspoon was voted Best Actress for WILD. Next in the voting were Julianne Moore for STILL ALICE (2), Rosamund Pike for GONE GIRL (3), Felicity Jones for THE THEORY OF EVERYTHING (4) and Marion Cotillard for TWO DAYS, ONE NIGHT (5).

In the Best Supporting Actor category, the winner was J.K. Simmons for WHIPLASH. He was followed by Edward Norton for BIRDMAN (2), Ethan Hawke for BOYHOOD (3), Mark Ruffalo for FOXCATCHER (4) and Alfred Molina for LOVE IS STRANGE (5).

For Best Supporting Actress, the association named Patricia Arquette for BOYHOOD. Runners-up were Emma Stone for BIRDMAN (2), Keira Knightley for THE IMITATION GAME (3), Jessica Chastain for A MOST VIOLENT YEAR (4) and Laura Dern for WILD (5).

Alejandro González Iñárritu was voted Best Director for BIRDMAN. Next in the voting were Richard Linklater for BOYHOOD (2), Wes Anderson for THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL (3), David Fincher for GONE GIRL (4) and Ava DuVernay for SELMA (5).

The association voted FORCE MAJEURE as the best foreign-language film of the year. Runners-up included IDA (2), WINTER SLEEP (3), LEVIATHAN (4) and WILD TALES (5).


THE LEGO MOVIE was named the best animated film of 2014, with BIG HERO 6 as runner-up. Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bo shared the Best Screenplay award for BIRDMAN over Richard Linklater for BOYHOOD.

The award for Best Cinematography went to Emmanuel Lubezki for BIRDMAN, followed by Hoyte Van Hoytema for INTERSTELLAR. The association gave its award for Best Musical Score to Hans Zimmer for INTERSTELLAR.

The association voted BOYHOOD as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film.

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association consists of 30 broadcast, print and online journalists from throughout North Texas. For more information, visit or follow us on Facebook or Twitter @dfwfilmcritics.

What do you think?

Film Lover

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.

Critics Choice Movie Awards Nominations – ‘Birdman’ and ‘Boyhood’ Come on Strong

Indiana Film Critics Winners – ‘Under the Skin’ Scores, Melissa McCarthy is a Runner-Up