Florida Film Critics Reward ’12 Years a Slave’, Lupita Nyong’o Wins Two Awards


JoaquinPhoenix_HerFlorida Film Critics unveiled their winners today naming 12 Years a Slave Best Picture of the Year.  All the usual suspects won as well but their runner-ups delivered some eclectic choices.  Joaquin Phoenix was second in line to Chiwetel Ejiofor for his work in Her while The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug was second to Gravity in Visual Effects.

Lupita Nyong’o, likely our Best Supporting Actress frontrunner at this point, won two awards for Supporting Actress and Breakout Star.

Check out the full list below and if you missed an awards announcement, please check on our Precursor Station for all the awards listed.

Best Picture
12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: American Hustle

Best Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Joaquin Phoenix – Her

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Runner-up: Judi Dench – Philomena

Best Supporting Actor
Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
Runner-up: Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Actress
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle

Best Director
Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity

Best Adapted Screenplay
John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Terence Winter – The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Original Screenplay
Spike Jonze – Her
Runner-up: David O. Russell & Eric Singer – American Hustle

Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki – Gravity
Runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel – Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Visual Effects
Runner-up: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Best Art Direction/Production Design
The Great Gatsby
Runner-up: American Hustle

Best Foreign Language
Blue is the Warmest Color
Runner-up: The Hunt

Best Animated Film
Runner-up: The Wind Rises

Best Documentary
The Act of Killing
Runner-up: Blackfish

Pauline Kael Breakout Award
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: Michael B. Jordan – Fruitvale Station

Golden Orange
Dana Keith of the Miami Beach Cinematheque for his tireless championing of foreign, independent and alternative film in South Florida for more than 20 years.

Previous articleNew Trailer of ‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’ Premieres!
Next article25 New Films Added to the National Film Registry
Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of AwardsCircuit.com. Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times, CNN.com, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.