in ,

Fourth Annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards Announce Date, Frederick Wiseman to Receive Inaugural Pennebaker Award

The fourth annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards gala will take place on Sunday, November 10, 2019 at BRIC in Brooklyn, New York. The Critics Choice Association (CCA) will once again be honoring the finest achievements in documentaries, released in theaters, on TV and on major digital platforms, as determined by the voting of qualified CCA members.

In addition to the 16 award categories listed below, a special new honor – The Pennebaker Award – will be presented to legendary documentarian Frederick Wiseman. This award is named for Critics’ Choice Lifetime Achievement Award winner D.A. Pennebaker, who passed away this summer.

Critics Choice Association CEO Joey Berlin notes, “For the fourth year in a row, we look forward to shining the spotlight on the outstanding documentary filmmaking of the year. We continue to highlight the importance and cultural value of documentaries and are thrilled to give the creative filmmakers the recognition and acknowledgement that they deserve.”

Stand-alone and two-part documentaries are eligible for awards consideration. To qualify for consideration, documentaries must have a theatrical or television/streaming premiere between November 1, 2018 and December 31, 2019.

Last year, the Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards introduced the Catalyst Sponsorship, a program for industry leaders to support the event. This year’s sponsors include National Geographic Documentary Films and SHOWTIME® Documentary Films.

“Free Solo” wins Best Sports Documentary, Best Innovative Documentary and Best Cinematography
Source: Critics’ Choice Association

At last year’s third annual CCDA event, “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?” took home the evening’s most prestigious award for Best Documentary as well as the Best Director award for Morgan Neville. “Free Solo” took home the awards for Best Sports Documentary, Most Innovative Documentary and Best Cinematography. The film later received many more accolades and awards, including the Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature.

Award Categories at the fourth annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards will include:

• Best Documentary Feature
• Best Director
• Best First Documentary Feature
• Best Cinematography
• Best Narration
• Best Score
• Best Editing
• Best Archival Documentary
• Best Political Documentary
• Best Biographical Documentary
• Best Science and Nature Documentary
• Best Sports Documentary
• Best Music Documentary
• Best Documentary Short
• Most Compelling Subject
• Most Innovative Documentary

Nomination committee deliberations will begin on Monday, September 23, with nominations announced on Monday, October 14. Winners will be chosen by qualified members of the Critics Choice Association and announced at the fourth annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards gala on November 10, 2019 at BRIC in Brooklyn.

Share your thoughts in the comments section below!



What do you think?

72 points
AC Fan

Written by Jessica Peña

Jessica Peña studied journalism at Volunteer State Community College before she began writing about film on a personal blog that sprouted from an electronic media course. She is now a film journalist for Awards Circuit, as well as a content editor and writer for the UK-based site JumpCut Online. She also loves the Child's Play/Chucky franchise with no end in sight.

What’s On TV? Wednesday (9/18/19) – Catch Up! The Emmys Are Coming

TIFF Film Review: ‘Antigone’ is a Jarring Adaptation of a Greek Tragedy