in ,

Golden Satellite Awards Find a ‘Silver Lining’

David O. Russell’s film wins five awards including Best Picture and Director…


David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook won and won big with the Golden Satellite Awards. SLP won five awards, including the big four: Picture, Director (Russell), Actor (Bradley Cooper), and Actress (Jennifer Lawrence). On the TV side of business, Homeland took the top prizes – speaking of which, did you see that nail-biting finale Sunday night? It’s the best show on TV now, and if you aren’t watching, you should probably start. See the full list of winners after the jump.

Motion Picture: Silver Linings Playbook
Actress in a Motion Picture: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
Actor in a Motion Picture: Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
Actress in a Supporting Role: Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables
Actor in a Supporting Role: Javier Bardem, Skyfall
Director: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Motion Picture, International Film: The Intouchables, Pieta (tie)
Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media: Rise of the Guardians
Motion Picture, Documentary: Chasing Ice
Original Screenplay: Mark Boal, Zero Dark Thirty
Adapted Screenplay: David Magee, Life of Pi
Best Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, Life Of Pi
Best Production Design: Rick Carter, Curt Beech, David Crank, and Leslie McDonald, Lincoln
Best Costume Design: Manon Rasmussen, A Royal Affair
Best Film Editing: Jay Cassidy, Silver Linings Playbook
Best Original Score: Alexandre Desplat, Argo
Best Original Song: “Suddenly,” Les Misérables
Best Visual Effects: Flight

Best Drama: Homeland
Best Actress in a Drama Series: Claire Danes, Homeland
Best Actor in a Drama Series: Damian Lewis, Homeland
Best Genre: Walking Dead
Best Comedy: The Big Bang Theory
Best Actress in a Comedy Series: Kaley Cuoco, The Big Bang Theory
Best Actor in a Comedy Series: Johnny Galecki, The Big Bang Theory
Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Hatfields & McCoys
Best Actress in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Julianne Moore, Game Change
Best Actor in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Benedict Cumberbatch, Sherlock
Best Supporting Actress in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey
Best Supporting Actor in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Neal McDonough, Justified
Outstanding Contribution to the Entertainment Industry: Terence Stamp
Nikola Tesla Award: Walter Murch
Auteur Award: Paul Williams
Honorary Satellite Award: Bruce Davison
Newcomer Award: Quvenzhane Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Humanitarian Award: Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

What do you think?

AC Fan

Written by Mark Johnson

Lover of all things film and Oscar. Fantasy sports’ equivalent of George Steinbrenner. Your very own Han Solo, making friends all over the movie-loving galaxy in spite of himself. When he’s not ranking just about everything or dominating boardgames, Mark is breaking down the Oscar race 24/7 with Rain Man-like stats and knowledge. In his downtime, you can find him commiserating with other Northeast Ohio sports fans because a hero isn’t complete without a little heartbreak. If Game of Thrones, Lost, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, and Survivor are your style, then congratulations, you have something in common with this inglourious basterd.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

    Chicago Film Critics Association Honors ‘Zero Dark Thirty’

    For Your Consideration: The Impossible