Houston Film Critics Nominations – ‘Inherent Vice’ Makes a Claim

inherentvice_phoenix_waterston2014 Houston Film Critics Society Nominations have been announced with Paul Thomas Anderson’s “Inherent Vice” making a strong showing.
Check out the nominees:
Best Picture
  • A Most Violent Year
  • Birdman
  • Boyhood
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • The Imitation Game
  • Inherent Vice
  • Nightcrawler
  • Selma
  • Whiplash
Best Director
  • Paul Thomas Anderson, Inherent Vice
  • Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Damien Chazelle, Whiplash
  • Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Birdman
  • Richard Linklater, Boyhood;
Best Actor
  • Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
  • Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler
  • Tom Hardy, Locke
  • Michael Keaton, Birdman
  • Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything
Best Actress
  • Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night
  • Essie Davis, The Babadook
  • Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
  • Julianne Moore, Still Alice
  • Reese Witherspoon, Wild
Best Supporting Actor
  • Josh Brolin, Inherent Vice
  • Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
  • Edward Norton, Birdman
  • Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
  • Andy Serkis, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
  • J.K. Simmons, Whiplash
Best Supporting Actress
  • Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
  • Jessica Chastain, A Most Violent Year
  • Keira Knightly, The Imitation Game
  • Emma Stone, Birdman
  • Tilda Swinton, Snowpiercer
Best Screenplay
  • Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr., Armando Bo, Birdman
  • Damien Chazelle, Whiplash
  • Dan Gilroy, Nightcrawler
  • Richard Linklater, Boyhood
Best Animated Film
  • Big Hero 6
  • The Book of Life
  • The Boxtrolls
  • How to Train Your Dragon 2
  • The Lego Movie
Best Cinematography
  • Roger Deakins, Unbroken
  • Robert Elswit, Inherent Vice
  • Hoyte van Hoytema, Interstellar
  • Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman
  • Robert Yeoman, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Best Original Score
  • Alexandre Desplat, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Alexandre Desplat, The Imitation Game
  • Johann Johannson, The Theory of Everything
  • Antonio Sanchez, Birdman
  • Hans Zimmer, Interstellar
Best Original Song
  • “Big Eyes”, Big Eyes
  • “Everything is Awesome”, The Lego Movie
  • “Glory”, Selma
  • “I’m Not Going to Miss You”, Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me
  • “Lost Stars”, Begin Again
Best Foreign Language Film
  • Force Majeure
  • Ida
  • Levitathan
  • The Raid 2
  • Two Days, One Night
Best Documentary Feature
  • Citizenfour
  • Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me
  • Jodorowsky’s Dune
  • Life Itself
  • The Overnighters
Texas Independent Film Award
  • Above All Else
  • Boyhood
  • Hellion
  • Joe
  • No No: A Dockumentary
  • Stop the Pounding Heart
Technical Achievement
  • Birdman
  • Boyhood
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Best Poster
  • Birdman
  • Godzilla (IMAX)
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (primary theatrical)
  • Inherent Vice
Worst Film of the Year
  • Blended
  • Dumb and Dumber To
  • Left Behind
  • The Identical
  • Transformers: Age of Extinction

What do you think?

Film Lover

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.


Leave a Reply


    Awards Circuit Presents: Academy Idol Season 8 – Voting Begins!