in ,

IDA Announces First Round of Documentary Awards Nominees

watani: my homeland

LOS ANGELES, CA — The International Documentary Association has announced the initial round of nominees for the 2017 IDA Documentary Awards. The 33rd edition of the annual ceremony will take place Saturday, December 9 at the Paramount Theatre in Los Angeles. Nominees for Best Feature and Best Short, and awards for creative recognition, ill be announced on November 1.

The IDA will honor director Marcel Mettelsiefen’s “Watani: My Homeland” with the Pare Lorentz Award. Also receiving a special mention in the category is Joe Berlinger’s “Intent to Destroy.”

In the limited series category, nominees include the Netflix docuseries, “Daughters of Destiny: The Story of Shanti Bhavan,” Vanessa Roth’s spotlight on the Shanti Bhavan school that educates Dalit children, the poorest among India’s families; “The Defiant Ones,” Allen Hughes’ exploration of the friendship between Jimmy Iovine and Dr. Dre; “The Keepers,” Ryan White’s docuseries which tackles the unsolved murder of Cathy Cesnik; “The Vietnam War,” Ken Burns and Lynn Novick’s 10-part, 18-hour American television documentary series about the Vietnam War; and Jenner Furst’s documentary television series, “TIME: The Kalief Browder Story,” which tells the story of an innocent high school student who was imprisoned for three years at Rikers Island without a conviction.

The list of nominees is below.


Pare Lorentz Award
“Watani: My Homeland” (Recipient)
Director: Marcel Mettelsiefen

“Intent to Destroy” (Special Mention)
Director: Joe Berlinger

ABC News VideoSource Award
“Blood On The Mountain”
Directors: Mari-Lynn Evans and Jordan Freeman
Virgil Films/Netflix

Directors: Tim Golden and Ross McDonnell
Gravitas Ventures, CNN Films

Director: Bryan Fogel

“LA 92”
Directors: Dan Lindsay & TJ Martin
National Geographic

Director: Vanessa Gould
Kino Lorber

Best Curated Series Award
“American Experience”
Executive Producer: Mark Samels

Executive Producer: Anders Bruus

“Independent Lens”
Executive Producers: Lois Vossen and Sally Jo Fifer

Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White

Executive Producers: Rachel Raney and Amy Shumaker
UNC-TV, South Carolina ETV, NETA  and WORLD

Best Limited Series Award
“Daughters of Destiny”
Executive Producer: Vanessa Roth

“The Defiant Ones”
Executive Producers: Allen Hughes, Doug Pray, Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Laura Lancaster, Jerry Longarzo, Michael Lombardo, and Gene Kirkwood

“The Keepers”
Executive Producers: Ryan White and Jessica Hargrave

“The Vietnam War”
Executive Producer: Ken Burns

“TIME: The Kalief Browder Story”
Executive Producers: Jenner Furst, Nick Sandow, Julia Willoughby Nason, Michael Gasparro, Shawn “JAY Z” Carter, Sharon Levy, Chachi Senior

Best Episodic Series Award
“Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown”
Executive Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia and Sandra Zweig

“Chef’s Table”
Executive Producers: David Gelb, Matthew Weaver, Brian McGinn, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard and Matthew Hilliard

“Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath”
Executive Producers: Leah Remini, Aaron Saidman, Alex Weresow, Devon-Graham-Hammonds, Elaine Frontain Bryant and Amy Savitsky

Executive Producers: Ron Howard, Brian Grazer, Michael Rosenberg, Dave O’Connor, Jon Kamen, Tommy Turtle, David Sirulnick, Jonathan Silberberg, Lorenzo Mieli, Everardo Gout, Justin Wilkes, Tim Pastore, Matt Renner, Robert Palumbo, and David Sirulneck
National Geographic

“Planet Earth II”
Executive Producer: Michael Gunton

Best Short Form Series Award
“Field of Vision”
Executive Producers: Laura Poitras, AJ Schnack and Charlotte Cook
Field of Vision

“Shorts on Time”
Executive Producers: Julie Parker Benello

“The Guardian documentaries”
Executive Producers: Charlie Phillips and Lindsay Poulton
The Guardian

“The New York Times Op-Docs”
Executive Producer: Kathleen Lingo
The New York Times

“The Secret Life of Muslims”
Executive Producers: Joshua Seftel and Reza Aslan

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award
Director: Ray Whitehouse
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Director: Maayan Arad
National Film and Television School (United Kingdom)

“How To Make A Pearl”
Director: Jason Hanasik
UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

“Man on Fire”
Director: Joel Fendelman
University of Texas, Austin

“Room 140”
Director: Priscilla Gonzalez Sainz
Stanford University

About the International Documentary Association:

Documentary storytelling expands our understanding of shared human experience, fostering an informed, compassionate, and connected world. The International Documentary Association (IDA) is dedicated to building and serving the needs of a thriving documentary culture. Through its programs, the IDA provides resources, creates community, and defends rights and freedoms for documentary artists, activists, and journalists

What do you think?

AC Fan

Written by Karen M. Peterson

Karen Peterson is a writer from Southern California. When she is not at the ballpark cheering on her LA Angels, she can usually be found in a movie theater or in front of the television. Karen is obsessed with awards shows, and loves everything from the smallest indie film to the biggest of big budget spectacles. She is also unapologetically in love with Tom Cruise.

Interview: Paul Haggis Reflects on His Career and the Importance of Art in the Trump Era

TV Review: ‘White Famous’ Takes on Racism But Tacks on Casual Sexism