Independent Spirit Nominations Announced – ‘Moonlight’ and ‘Manchester by the Sea’ Have a Strong Showing

Moonlight Gay and Lesbian Film Entertainment Critics Association

Full List of nominees to be expanded shortly:

Robert Altman Award (awarded to one film’s director, casting director & ensemble cast)

  • “Moonlight”

Best Director

  • Andrea Arnold – “American Honey”
  • Barry Jenkins – “Moonlight”
  • Pablo Larrain – “Jackie”
  • Jeff Nichols – “Loving”
  • Kelly Reichardt – “Certain Women”

Best Feature

  • “American Honey” (A24)
  • “Chronic”
  • “Jackie” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • “Manchester by the Sea” (Amazon Studios/Roadside Attractions)
  • “Moonlight” (A24)

Best Male Lead

  • Casey Affleck – “Manchester by the Sea”
  • David Harewood – “Free in Deed”
  • Viggo Mortensen – “Captain Fantastic”
  • Jesse Plemons – “Other People”
  • Tim Roth – “Chronic”

Best Female Lead

  • Annette Bening – “20th Century Women”
  • Isabelle Huppert – “Elle”
  • Sasha Lane – “American Honey”
  • Ruth Negga – “Loving”
  • Natalie Portman – “Jackie”

John Cassevetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded)

  • “Free in Deed”
  • “Hunter Gatherer”
  • “Lovesong”
  • “Nakom”
  • “Spa Night”

Best Documentary Feature

  • “13th”
  • “Cameraperson”
  • “I Am Not Your Negro”
  • “O.J.: Made in America”
  • “Sonita”
  • “Under the Sun”

Best International Film

  • “Aquarius” (Brazil)
  • “Chevalier” (Greece)
  • “My Golden Days” (France)
  • “Toni Erdmann” (Germany/Romania)
  • “Under the Shadow” (Iran/UK)

Best Editing

  • “Swiss Army Man”
  • “Manchester by the Sea”
  • “Moonlight”
  • “Hell or High Water”
  • “Jackie”

Best Cinematography

  • “Free in Deed”
  • “Childhood”
  • “Eyes of my Mother”
  • “Moonlight”
  • “American Honey”

First Screenplay

  • “The Witch – Robert Eggers
  • “Other People” – Chris Kelly
  • “Barry” – A. Mansbach
  • “Jean of the Joneses” –
  • “Christine” – Craig Shilowich

Best Screenplay

  • “Moonlight” – Barry Jenkins, Tarell McCraney
  • “Manchester by the Sea” – Kenneth Lonergan
  • “20th Century Women” – Mike Mills
  • “Little Men” – Ira Sachs, Mauricio Zacharias
  • “Hell or High Water” – Taylor Sheridan

Best Supporting Male

  • Ralph Fiennes – “A Bigger Splash”
  • Ben Foster – “Hell or High Water”
  • Lucas Hedges – “Manchester by the Sea”
  • Shia LeBeouf – “American Honey”
  • Craig Robinson – “Morris from America”

Best Supporting Female

  • Edwina Findley – “Free in Deed”
  • Paulina Garcia – “Little Men”
  • Lily Gladstone – “Certain Women”
  • Riley Keough – “American Honey”
  • Molly Shannon – “Other People”

Nominees for the Producers Award: Lisa Kjerulff, Jordana Mollick and Melody C. Roscher & Craig Shilowich

Share your thoughts in the comments below!

Previous articleFilm Review: ‘Fences’ Draws More Meaning to the Art of Acting
Next article2017 PGA Documentary Film Nominees Announced
Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.