London Film Critics’ Circle Nominations – They Have A Clear ‘Favourite’


The London Film Critics’ Circle announced their full list of nominees and “The Favourite” managed to lead the pack with ten nominations. Meanwhile, “Cold War” received major love outside of the expected Foreign Language Film citation with nominations for Film of the Year, Director, Actress and Cinematography. “Widows” got some much needed recognition since it’s performed poorly throughout this awards season thus far. The winners of the London Film Critics’ Circle will be announced on Jan. 20th.

Check out the full list of nominees below.

2018 London Film Critics’ Circle Nominees:

Film Of The Year:
  • “BlacKkKlansman”
  • “Cold War”
  • “The Favourite”
  • “First Man”
  • “First Reformed”
  • “The Happy Prince”
  • “Leave No Trace”
  • “Roma”
  • “Shoplifters”
  • “You Were Never Really Here”
Director Of The Year:
  • Pawel Pawlikowski, “Cold War”
  • Yorgos Lanthimos, “The Favourite”
  • Debra Granik, “Leave No Trace”
  • Alfonso Cuaron, “Roma”
  • Lynne Ramsay, “You Were Never Really Here”
Actor Of The Year:
  • Christian Bale, “Vice”
  • Rupert Everett, “The Happy Prince”
  • Ben Foster, “Leave No Trace”
  • Ethan Hawke, “First Reformed”
  • Joaquin Phoenix, “You Were Never Really Here”

Actress Of The Year:
  • Yalitza Aparicio, “Roma”
  • Glenn Close, “The Wife”
  • Toni Collette, “Hereditary”
  • Olivia Colman, “The Favourite”
  • Joanna Kulig, “Cold War”
Supporting Actor Of The Year:
  • Adam Driver, “BlacKkKlansman”
  • Richard E. Grant, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”
  • Michael B. Jordan, “Black Panther”
  • Daniel Kaluuya, “Widows”
  • Alessandro Nivola, “Disobedience”

Supporting Actress Of The Year:
  • Elizabeth Debicki, “Widows”
  • Cynthia Erivo, “Bad Times At The El Royale”
  • Claire Foy, “First Man”
  • Regina King, “If Beale Street Could Talk”
  • Rachel Weisz, “The Favourite”
Screenwriter Of The Year:
  • Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara, “The Favourite”
  • Paul Schrader, “First Reformed”
  • Barry Jenkins, “If Beale Street Could Talk”
  • Alfonso Cuaron, “Roma”
  • Steve McQueen and Gillian Flynn, “Widows”

Foreign Language Film Of The Year:
  • “Cold War”
  • “A Fantastic Woman”
  • “120 Beats Per Minute”
  • “Roma”
  • “Shoplifters”
Documentary Of The Year:
  • “Faces Places”
  • “McQueen”
  • “They Shall Not Grow Old”
  • “Three Identical Strangers”
  • “Whitney”
British/Irish Film Of The Year: The Attenborough Award:
  • “Apostasy”
  • “Beast”
  • “The Favourite”
  • “The Happy Prince”
  • “You Were Never Really Here”
British/Irish Actress Of The Year:
  • Emily Blunt, “Mary Poppins Returns,” “A Quiet Place,” and “Sherlock Gnomes”
  • Jessie Buckley, “Beast”
  • Olivia Colman, “The Favourite”
  • Claire Foy, “First Man, “The Girl in the Spider’s Web,” and “Unsane”
  • Rachel Weisz, “Disobedience” and “The Favourite”
British/Irish Actor Of The Year:
  • Christian Bale, “Mowgli” and “Vice”
  • Steve Coogan, “Holmes & Watson,” “Ideal Home,” and “Stan & Ollie”
  • Rupert Everett, “The Happy Prince”
  • Richard E. Grant, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?” and “The Nutcracker and the Four Realms”
  • Daniel Kaluuya, “Black Panther” and “Widows”
Young British/Irish Performer Of The Year:
  • Liv Hill, “Jellyfish” and “The Little Stranger”
  • Noah Jupe, “Holmes & Watson,” “A Quiet Place,” “That Good Night,” and “The Titan”
  • Anya Taylor-Joy, “Glass,” “The Secret of Marrowbone,” and “Thoroughbreds”
  • Fionn Whitehead, “The Children Act”
  • Molly Wright, “Apostasy”
Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker Of The Year: The Philip French Award
  • Deborah Davis, “The Favourite”
  • Rupert Everett, “The Happy Prince”
  • Deborah Haywood, “Pin Cushion”
  • Daniel Kokotajlo, “Apostasy”
  • Michael Pearce, “Beast”
British/Irish Short Film Of The Year:
  • “Little Shit,” Richard Gorodecky
  • “Night Out,” Amelia Hashemi
  • “Salt & Sauce,” Alia Ghafar
  • “Three Centimetres,” Lara Zeidan
  • “Under Growth,” Evin O’Neill
Technical Achievement Of The Year:
  • “American Animals”- editing, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill, and Julian Hart
  • “BlacKkKlansman”- costume design, Marci Rodgers
  • “Cold War”- cinematography, Lukasz Zal
  • “The Favourite”- production design, Fiona Crombie
  • “First Man”- visual effects, Paul Lambert
  • “If Beale Street Could Talk”- score, Nicholas Britell
  • “Mission Impossible: Fallout”- stunts, Wade Eastwood
  • “A Quiet Place”- sound design, Ethan Van Der Ryn and Erik Aadahl
  • “Suspiria”- music, Thom Yorke
  • “You Were Never Really Here”- editing, Joe Bini

What do you guys think? Are you pleased by this long list of nominations? Please be sure to leave your thoughts in the comments section!

The London Film Critics’ Circle will announce their winners on Jan. 20, 2019.

Be sure to check out the Official Oscar Predictions Page to see where this year’s films and performances rank among the contenders!