National Board of Review – Winners Announcement and Gala Dates Scheduled

NBR logo

NBR_logoNew York, NY (April 15, 2015) – The National Board of Review announced today that they will unveil their 2015 award winners on Tuesday, December 1st, 2015 and will host their annual awards gala on Tuesday, January 5th, 2016, at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City.

“We are thrilled to welcome back last year’s host, NBC’s Willie Geist,” said NBR President Annie Schulhof. “This also marks our tenth year at Cipriani 42nd Street and we look forward to continuing this tradition.”

The National Board of Review’s awards celebrate excellence in filmmaking with categories that include Best Picture, Best Director, Best Performances, Best Ensemble, Breakthrough Performance, Directorial Debut and Spotlight Award as well as signature honors such as the William K. Everson Award for Film History, Freedom of Expression, and Special Achievement in Filmmaking.

For 106 years, the National Board of Review has dedicated its efforts to the support of domestic and foreign cinema as both art and entertainment.  Each year, over 250 films (studio, independent, foreign-language, animated, and documentary) are viewed by this select group of film enthusiasts, filmmakers, professionals, academics, and students.  These screenings are frequently followed by in-depth discussions with directors, actors, producers, and screenwriters.  One of the NBR’s core values is their belief in nurturing new and up-and-coming filmmakers by awarding grants to promising film students and facilitating community outreach to The Children’s Aid Society, The Ghetto Film School, Reel Works Teen Filmmaking, and Educational Video Center.

Join the conversation @NBRfilm

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote
Binge Watcher

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


The Hateful Eight 400x300

Watch the “Leaked” Teaser Trailer for ‘The Hateful Eight’ by Quentin Tarantino

ryan gosling blade runner 2 shot

Ryan Gosling to star in ‘Blade Runner’ Sequel?