National Board of Review Chooses 2017 Date for Awards Gala

National Board of Review


Next year’s awards calendar is quickly booking up. The National Board of Review announced today that Jan. 4, 2017 will be its date for its annual film awards gala.

The NBRs quick start awards season each year, as it is usually one of the first organizations to announce its winners in early December. The group is made up of film lovers, filmmakers, professionals, academics and students of all ages and backgrounds, and celebrates excellence in the world of filmmaking.

Some of the categories at the gala include: Best Picture, Best Director, Best Performances, Best Ensemble, Breakthrough Performances, Directorial Debut and the Spotlight Award, as well as the William K. Everson Award for Film History, Freedom of Expression and Special Achievement in Filmmaking.

The last three films to win Best Picture at the NBRs were “Mad Max: Fury Road,” “A Most Violent Year,” and “Her.” Other past winners include “Zero Dark Thirty,” “Hugo” and “The Social Network.”

The awards will once again be hosted by NBC’s Willie Geist, and will take place at the Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City. NBR President Annie Schulhof said in a statement, “The NBR is thrilled to welcome Willie back to our annual celebration. He has truly become a part of the NBR family as has Cipriani 42nd Street, our home for more than a decade. We look forward to an exciting evening honoring the exceptional films being released this year.”

However, the NBR has yet to announce when its members will vote on or announce the winners, which usually occurs in early December.

What do you think?

Written by Lauren Huff

Lauren Huff is a film and awards geek. When she's not writing about film and the industry, she's drinking coffee, reading mystery novels or hanging out with her husband and stinking-cute puppy. She's reported from the red carpets of Austin Film Festival, SXSW and various film premieres. Her work has appeared in several outlets, including Deadline, The Hollywood Reporter, Us Weekly and more.

Reports Say Michael Keaton Cast as Vulture in ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’

Awards Circuit Power Hour Episode 195: TV Upfronts, Comic Mythology, and Change the Cast