in , , ,

National Society of Film Critics Name ‘Parasite’ Best Picture, Mary Kay Place Takes Best Actress

Bong Joon ho Parasite

The National Society of Film Critics (NSFC) met Saturday afternoon to announce their 2019 winners in film.

Taking the top prize is “Parasite,” the Cannes award-winning and critically lauded feature from director Bong Joon-ho. The film topped with a total of 44 points, while Greta Gerwig‘s “Little Women” came in as runner-up. Gerwig then took the award for Best Director.

Primetime Emmy winner Mary Kay Place was crowned Best Actress by the NSFC for her performance in “Diane,” while Antonio Banderas took the win for Best Actor for his role in “Pain and Glory.”

This edition of the awards was voted on by 20 critics in New York, 9 remotely in L.A. and other cities, and 14 by proxy.

Last year, the NSFC awarded its Best Picture honor to Chloe Zhao’s “The Rider.”

gciff diane marykay place
Mary Kay Place in “Diane”

Find the list of winners below as they’re updated.

Best Picture

(Runners-up: “Little Women”; “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”)

Best Director

Greta Gerwig, “Little Women” 

(Runners-up: Bong Joon Ho, “Parasite” Martin Scorsese, “The Irishman”)

Best Screenplay
Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won, “Parasite”

(Runners-up: Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”; Greta Gerwig, “Little Women”)

Best Cinematography
Claire Mathon, “Portrait of a Lady on Fire”

(Runners-up: Robert Richardson, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”; Yorick Le Saux, “Little Women”)

Best Supporting Actor
Brad Pitt, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

(Runners-up: Joe Pesci, “The Irishman”; Wesley Snipes, “Dolemite Is My Name”; Song Kang Ho, “Parasite”)

Best Actor
Antonio Banderas, “Pain & Glory”

(Runners-up: Adam Driver, “Marriage Story”; Adam Sandler, “Uncut Gems”)

Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern, “Marriage Story”

(Runners-up: Florence Pugh, “Little Women”; Jennifer Lopez, “Hustlers”)

Best Actress
Mary Kay Place, “Diane”

(Runners-up: Zhao Tao, “Ash Is the Purest White”; Florence Pugh, “Midsommar”)

Best Foreign-Language Film

Best Non-Fiction Film


(Runners-up: “American Factory;” “Apollo 11”)

Film Heritage Award

The Museum of Modern Art for “Private Lives, Public Spaces,” curated by Ron Magliozzi, which makes visible MoMA’s collection of more than 100 years of vernacular moving images, most of them home movies by the famous and unknown.

Rialto Pictures, in its 22nd year, for distributing 4k restorations of beloved classics like KIND HEARTS AND CORONETS and presenting neglected work by masters such as THE WHITE SHEIK and, for the first time, the uncut version of CHRIST STOPPED AT EBOLI.

What do you think of the National Society of Film Critics winners? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Jessica Peña

Jessica Peña studied journalism at Volunteer State Community College before she began writing about film on a personal blog that sprouted from an electronic media course. She is now a film journalist for Awards Circuit, as well as a content editor and writer for the UK-based site JumpCut Online. She also loves the Child's Play/Chucky franchise with no end in sight.


Leave a Reply

    Join the discussion. Share your comments.

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



    Circuit Consideration 2019: Paul Massey, Steven Morrow, and David Giammarco for ‘Ford v Ferrari’ (Sound Mixing)

    doctor who spyfall cropped

    What’s On TV – Sunday (01/05/2020) – Golden Globes Kick Off Awards Season