New York Film Critics Circle Winners Announcing: ‘The Irishman’ Tops, Safdie Brothers and Lupita Nyong’o Get Love


The New York Film Critics Circle is announcing their selections for the best films and performances of 2019. Esteemed colleagues and film journalists such as Kate Erbland (IndieWire), Tomris Laffly (TimeOut New York), and Matt Singer (Screen Crush) are among the members in the room, weighing in on what films deserve their prestigious honors.

Last year’s selections included Alfonso Cuaron’s “Roma,” which took their top prize, along with director and cinematography honors. Their lead acting winners included Ethan Hawke for “First Reformed” and Regina Hall for “Support the Girls,” both of which missed out on Oscar recognition.  Their supporting winners were Richard E. Grant for “Can You Ever Forgive Me?” and Regina King for “If Beale Street Could Talk.”  King went on to win the Academy Award for Supporting Actress.

Check back down below and refresh your pages to see the NYFCC winners as they are announced:

  • Best Picture:
    “The Irishman”
  • Best Director:
    Josh Safdie & Benny Safdie, “Uncut Gems” (A24)
  • Best Screenplay:
    Quentin Tarantino
    , “Once Upon a Time in…Hollywood” (Sony Pictures)
  • Best Actress:
    Lupita Nyong’o
    , “Us” (Universal Pictures)
  • Best Actor:
    Antonio Banderas
    , “Pain and Glory” (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Best Supporting Actress:
    Laura Dern
    , “Little Women” (Sony Pictures) & “Marriage Story” (Netflix)
  • Best Supporting Actor:
    Joe Pesci,
    “The Irishman” (Netflix)
  • Best Cinematography:
    Claire Mathon, “Portrait Of A Lady On Fire” (NEON)
  • Best Non-Fiction Film:
    Tamara Kotevska, Ljubomir Stefanov, “Honeyland” (NEON)
  • Best Foreign Language Film:
    Bong Joon-ho, “Parasite” (South Korea)
  • Best Animated Feature:
    Jérémy Clapin, “I Lost My Body” (Netflix)
  • Best First Film:
    Mati Diop, “Atlantics
  • Special Award 1:
    Indie Collect
  • Special Award 2:
    Randy Newman

Clayton Davis’ Predictions on #TheCircuitHub

Best Picture: “Parasite” (NEON)

Best Director: Bong Joon-ho, “Parasite” (NEON)

Best Screenplay: “Parasite” (NEON)

Best Actress: Renee Zellweger, “Judy” (Roadside Attractions)

Best Actor: Adam Driver, “Marriage Story” (Netflix)

Best Supporting Actress: Zhao Shuzhen, “The Farewell” (A24)

Best Supporting Actor: Joe Pesci, “The Irishman” (Netflix)

Best Cinematography: Lawrence Sher, “Joker” (Warner Bros.)

Best Non-fiction Film: “Fyre” (Netflix)

Best Foreign Language Film: “Missing Link” (Laika)

Best Animated Feature: “Honeyland” (NEON)

Best First Film: Olivia Wilde, “Booksmart” (United Artists)

Special Award For Career Achievement: Not Predicted

Special Award: Not Predicted

Share your thoughts and predictions down below!