Online Film Critics Association Winners – ‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’ Wins Best Picture

grandbudapest_productiondesignNew York, NY – December 15, 2014 – The Online Film Critics Society are proud to announce the winners for the 18th annual OFCS awards for excellence in film.

Founded in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society is the largest and oldest organization of its kind, and a key catalyst in the expansion of Internet-based film journalism. The OFCS represents over 275 members worldwide.

“This year represented an opportunity to revisit our youth, look toward the future, and search deep inside our souls through the spectacular array of films shown on screen.  We found courage, love and heartbreak in this year’s films and we’re proud to be able to honor them,” says OFCS Chair Cole Smithey.

Past OFCS Awards winners that went on to win the Academy Award for Best Picture include “12 Years a Slave,” “Argo,” “The Hurt Locker,” “American Beauty,” and “No Country for Old Men.”

Best Picture
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Animated Feature
The Lego Movie

Best Film Not in the English Language
Two Days, One Night

Best Documentary
Life Itself

Best Director
Richard Linklater – Boyhood

Best Actor
Michael Keaton – Birdman

Best Actress
Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Best Supporting Actor
Edward Norton – Birdman

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Best Original Screenplay
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Adapted Screenplay
Gone Girl

Best Editing

Best Cinematography
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Non-U.S. Release (non-competitive category)

  • ’71
  • 10,000 km
  • Entre Nós
  • Han Gong-ju
  • Hard to Be a God
  • The Look of Silence
  • The Salt of the Earth
  • What We Do in the Shadows
  • Timbuktu
  • The Tribe

What do you think?

Film Lover

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.


Leave a Reply

    Paul Haggis To Receive Ian McClellan Hunter Award For Career Achievement at 2015 Writers Guild Awards

    Disney Channel’s DESCENDANTS Official Teaser