in ,

Online Film Critics Society Awards Winners: ‘Roma’ Continues Its Reign

Roma Yalitza 1

The Online Film Critics Society just announced their winners for their annual awards. However, they’ve also showed that the reign of “Roma” continues. “Roma” managed to dominate with four wins including Best Picture and Best Foreign Language Film. Although, “If Beale Street Could Talk” came out strong with three wins.

Meanwhile, “Mission: Impossible-Fallout” pulled out a surprising win in Best Editing. It was competing against the likes of “First Man” and “Roma” which are more likely Oscar nominees. So, this win was a nice surprise. Also, actors like Ethan Hawke and Toni Collette continued their expected critical reign.

The full results can be seen down below.


2018 Online Film Critics Society Awards Winners And Nominees:

Best Picture:
  • “Annihilation”
  • “BlacKkKlansman”
  • “Eighth Grade”
  • “The Favourite”
  • “First Reformed”
  • “Hereditary”
  • “If Beale Street Could Talk”
  • “Roma”
  • “A Star Is Born”
  • “Suspiria”
  • “You Were Never Really Here”
Best Animated Feature:
  • “Incredibles 2”
  • “Isle Of Dogs”
  • “Mirai”
  • “Ralph Breaks The Internet”
  • “Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse”
Best Director:
  • Alfonso Cuaron- “Roma”
  • Barry Jenkins- “If Beale Street Could Talk”
  • Yorgos Lanthimos- “The Favourite”
  • Spike Lee- “BlacKkKlansman”
  • Lynne Ramsay- “You Were Really Never Here”
Best Actor:
  • Christian Bale- “Vice”
  • Bradley Cooper- “A Star Is Born”
  • Ethan Hawke- “First Reformed”
  • Joaquin Phoenix- “You Were Never Really Here”
  • John David Washington- “BlacKkKlansman”
Best Actress:
  • Yalitza Aparicio- “Roma”
  • Toni Collette- “Hereditary”
  • Olivia Colman- “The Favourite”
  • Regina Hall- “Support The Girls”
  • Lady Gaga- “A Star Is Born”
Best Supporting Actor:
  • Mahershala Ali- “Green Book”
  • Adam Driver- “BlacKkKlansman”
  • Richard E. Grant- “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”
  • Michael B. Jordan- “Black Panther”
  • Steven Yeun- “Burning”
Best Supporting Actress:
  • Elizabeth Debicki- “Widows”
  • Regina King – “If Beale Street Could Talk”
  • Thomasin McKenzie- “Leave No Trace”
  • Emma Stone- “The Favourite”
  • Rachel Weisz- “The Favourite”
Best Original Screenplay:
  • “Eighth Grade”- Bo Burnham
  • “The Favourite”- Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara
  • “First Reformed”- Paul Schrader
  • “Roma”- Alfonso Cuaron
  • “Sorry To Bother You”- Boots Riley
Best Adapted Screenplay:
  • “BlacKkKlansman”- Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott, and Spike Lee
  • “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”- Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty
  • “If Beale Street Could Talk”- Barry Jenkins
  • “Leave No Trace”- Debra Granik and Anne Rossellini
  • “Widows”- Gillian Flynn and Steve McQueen
Best Editing:
  • “The Favourite”- Yorgos Mavropsaridis
  • “First Man”- Tom Cross
  • “Mission: Impossible- Fallout”- Eddie Hamilton
  • “Roma”- Alfonso Cuaron and Adam Gough
  • “Widows”- Joe Walker
Best Cinematography:
  • “Cold War”- Lukasz Zal
  • “The Favourite”- Robbie Ryan
  • “First Man”- Linus Sandgren
  • “If Beale Street Could Talk”- James Laxton
  • “Roma”- Alfonso Cuaron
Best Original Score:
  • “Black Panther”- Ludwig Goransson
  • “First Man”- Justin Hurwitz
  • “If Beale Street Could Talk”- Nicholas Britell
  • “Isle Of Dogs”- Alexandre Desplat
  • “Suspiria”- Thom Yorke
Best Debut Feature:
  • Ari Aster- “Hereditary”
  • Bo Burnham- “Eighth Grade”
  • Bradley Cooper- “A Star Is Born”
  • Carlos Lopez Estrada- “Blindspotting”
  • Boots Riley- “Sorry To Bother You”
Best Film Not In The English Language:
  • “Burning”
  • “Cold War”
  • “Roma”
  • “Shoplifters”
  • “Zama”
Best Documentary:
  • “Free Solo”
  • “Minding The Gap”
  • “Shirkers”
  • “Three Identical Strangers”
  • “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?”
Technical Achievement Awards:
  • “Annihilation”- Best Visual Effects
  • “Black Panther”- Best Costume Design
  • “Mission: Impossible- Fallout”- Best Stunt Coordination
  • “A Quiet Place”- Best Sound Design
  • “A Star Is Born”- Best Original Songs
Lifetime Achievement Awards:
  • Roger Deakins
  • Spike Lee
  • Rita Moreno
  • Robert Redford
  • Agnes Varda
Special Achievement Awards:
  • To Ryan Coogler for Black Panther’s distinctive critical and box office appeal
  • To the city of Oakland, CA for hosting 2018’s most socially and artistically compelling films about racism, “Sorry To Bother You” and “Blindspotting.”

What do you guys think? Are you pleased with this set of winners? Please share your thoughts in the comments section!

Be sure to check out Official Oscar Predictions Page to see where this year’s films and performances rank among the contenders!

Circuit Hub

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote
AC Fan

Written by Matt St.Clair

Matt St.Clair is a freelance film journalist currently residing in Connecticut. He is a member of the Gay & Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association and the Online Film & Television Association.


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Very happy that Roma is continuing to show it’s case for a best picture win down the line.


documentary collage

Top 10: Best Documentaries of 2018


Circuit Q&A – Cuba Gooding, Jr’s Best Non-Oscar Performance