in ,

Online Film Critics Society Nominees – ‘A Ghost Story’ and ‘mother!’ Make the Cut

mother 3

The Online Film Critics Society announced their nominees this evening where films like “A Ghost Story,” “mother!,” and “Phantom Thread” found love from the group of online critics.

They offered a few surprises along the way as Robert Pattinson (“Good Time“), Cynthia Nixon (“A Quiet Passion“), Patrick Stewart (“Logan“), and James Gray (“The Lost City of Z“) all found love.

Check out the full list of nominees down below.

Voting will start Monday, Dec. 18 and end on Dec. 24 at midnight. Winners will be announced Dec. 28 at noon on Twitter.

Best Picture

  • “Call Me by Your Name” (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • “Dunkirk” (Warner Bros.)
  • “The Florida Project” (A24)
  • “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
  • “A Ghost Story” (A24)
  • “Lady Bird” (A24)
  • “mother!” (Paramount Pictures)
  • “Phantom Thread” (Focus Features)
  • “The Shape of Water” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Best Director

  • Paul Thomas Anderson, “Phantom Thread”
  • Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water”
  • Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird”
  • Christopher Nolan, “Dunkirk”
  • Jordan Peele, “Get Out”

Best Actor

  • Timothee Chalamet, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • James Franco, “The Disaster Artist”
  • Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out”
  • Gary Oldman, “Darkest Hour”
  • Robert Pattinson, “Good Time”

Best Actress

  • Sally Hawkins, “The Shape of Water”
  • Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri”
  • Cynthia Nixon, “A Quiet Passion”
  • Margot Robbie, “I, Tonya”
  • Saoirse Ronan, “Lady Bird”

Best Supporting Actor

  • Armie Hammer, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Richard Jenkins, “The Shape of Water”
  • Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri”
  • Patrick Stewart, “Logan”
  • Michael Stuhlbarg, “Call Me by Your Name”

Best Supporting Actress

  • Mary J. Blige, “Mudbound”
  • Tiffany Haddish, “Girls Trip”
  • Holly Hunter, “The Big Sick”
  • Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”
  • Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”

Best Original Screenplay

  • Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
  • Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird”
  • Paul Thomas Anderson, “Phantom Thread”
  • Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor, “The Shape of Water”
  • Martin McDonagh, “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Sofia Coppola, “The Beguiled”
  • James Ivory, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Scott Neustadter and Micheal Weber, “The Disaster Artist”
  • James Gray, “The Lost City of Z”
  • Aaron Sorkin, “Molly’s Game”

Best Breakout Star

  • Timothee Chalamet, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Tiffany Haddish, “Girls Trip”
  • Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out”
  • Dafne Keen, “Logan”
  • Brooklyn Prince, “The Florida Project”

Best Ensemble

  • “Get Out”
  • “Lady Bird”
  • “Mudbound”
  • “The Post”
  • “The Shape of Water”
  • “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Best Animated Feature

  • “The Breadwinner”
  • “Coco”
  • “In This Corner of the World”
  • “The LEGO Batman Movie”
  • “Loving Vincent”

Best Cinematography

  • Roger Deakins, “Blade Runner 2049”
  • Hoyte van Hoytema, “Dunkirk”
  • Darius Khondji, “The Lost City of Z”
  • Rachel Morrison, “Mudbound”
  • Dan Laustsen, “The Shape of Water”

Best Editing

  • Paul Machliss, “Baby Driver”
  • Lee Smith, “Dunkirk”
  • Ben Safdie and Ronald Bronstein, “Good Time”
  • Tatiana S. Riegel, “I, Tonya”
  • Sidney Wolinsky, “The Shape of Water”

Best Foreign Language Film

  • “BPM (Beats Per Minute)”
  • “First They Killed My Father”
  • “Nocturna”
  • “Raw”
  • “The Square”
  • “Thelma”

Best Documentary Feature

  • “Dawson City: Frozen Time”
  • “Ex Libris: The New York City Public Library”
  • “Faces Places”
  • “Jane”
  • “The Work”

Memorial Award (Memorial Award recognizes the body of work of a contributor in film who has passed away over the past year)

  • Bill Paxton
  • George A. Romero
  • Harry Dean Stanton
  • John Hurt
  • Jonathan Demme

Lifetime Achievement Award (recognizes the excellence of a contributor to film over the span of his or her career)

  • Agnes Varda
  • Christopher Plummer
  • Daniel Day-Lewis
  • Roger Deakins
  • Willem Dafoe

Have you missed a precursor?  Click the “PRECURSORS 2017” tag to bring up all the prizes thus far!



What do you think?

268 points
Upvote Downvote
Binge Watcher

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Christian Palmer

So happy to see mother! get in somewhere.

Joey Magidson

A Ghost Story and mother! in the lineup warms my heart.


Glad Stewart got in for Logan. The film was actually one of the best of the year particularly in the noir format.

Odin the Wanderer

Here I was thinking everyone had forgotten about Cynthia Nixon, I’m so happy to see her sneak in here!



St. Louis Film Critics Association Awards: ‘The Shape of Water’ Dominates With 5 Accolades

Star War The Last Jedi Kylo Ren

‘The Last Jedi’ Wins Box Office with Second Highest Opening Ever