‘Parasite’ and ‘1917’ Lead Georgia Film Critics Association Winners

parasite image

The Georgia Film Critics Association (GFCA) announced their 2019 winners in film. Bong Joon-ho’s “Parasite” took the award for Best Picture while Joon-ho won for Best Director. The South Korean feature also won Best Original Screenplay and Best Foreign Language Film.

Leading close behind with three wins is “1917,” from director Sam Mendes. The WWl film earned wins including Best Score, Best Production Design and Best Cinematography.

Adam Driver and Lupita Nyong’o dominated the lead acting categories while Florence Pugh and Joe Pesci won for their respective supporting roles.

1917 image

See the full list of GFCA nominees and winners below.

Best Picture
“The Farewell”
“Ford v Ferrari”
“A Hidden Life”
“The Irishman”
“Little Women”
“Marriage Story”
“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”
“Parasite” WINNER
“Uncut Gems”

Best Director
“1917” – Sam Mendes
“The Irishman” – Martin Scorsese
“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” – Quentin Tarantino
“Parasite” – Bong Joon-ho WINNER
“Uncut Gems” – Ben Safdie, Josh Safdie

Best Actor
Antonio Banderas (“Pain and Glory”)
Leonardo DiCaprio (“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”)
Adam Driver (“Marriage Story”) WINNER
Joaquin Phoenix (“Joker”)
Adam Sandler (“Uncut Gems”)

Best Actress
Awkwafina (“The Farewell”)
Scarlett Johansson (“Marriage Story”)
Lupita Nyong’o (“Us”) WINNER
Saoirse Ronan (“Little Women”)
Renée Zellweger (“Judy”)

Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe (“The Lighthouse”)
Tom Hanks (“A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”)
Al Pacino (“The Irishman”)
Joe Pesci (“The Irishman”) WINNER
Brad Pitt (“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”)

Best Supporting Actress
Kathy Bates (“Richard Jewell”)
Laura Dern (“Marriage Story”)
Jennifer Lopez (“Hustlers”)
Florence Pugh (“Little Women”) WINNER
Margot Robbie (“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”)
Shuzhen Zhou (“The Farewell”)

Best Original Screenplay
“The Farewell” – Lulu Wang
“Knives Out” – Rian Johnson
“Marriage Story” – Noah Baumbach
“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” – Quentin Tarantino
“Parasite” – Bong Joon-ho, Han Jin-won WINNER

Best Adapted Screenplay
“Hustlers” – Lorene Scafaria
“The Irishman” – Steven Zaillian WINNER
“Jojo Rabbit” – Taika Waititi
“Joker” – Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
“Little Women” – Greta Gerwig

Best Cinematography
“1917” – Roger Deakins WINNER
“Ad Astra” – Hoyte van Hoytema
“A Hidden Life” – Jörg Widmer
“The Lighthouse” – Jarin Blaschke
“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” – Robert Richardson
“Portrait of a Lady on Fire” – Claire Mathon

Best Production Design
“1917” – Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales WINNER
“The Lighthouse” – Craig Lathrop, Matt Likely
“Little Women” – Jess Gonchor, Chris Farmer
“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” – Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh
“Parasite” – Lee Ha-joon

Best Original Score
“1917” – Thomas Newman WINNER
“Joker” – Hildur Guðnadóttir
“Little Women” – Alexandre Desplat
“Parasite” – Jung Jae-il
“Uncut Gems” – Daniel Lopatin
“Us” – Michael Abels

Best Original Song
“Glasgow (No Place Like Home)” – Caitlin Smith, Mary Steenburgen, Kate York (“Wild Rose”) WINNER
“A Glass of Soju” – Jung Jae-il, Bong Joon-ho (“Parasite”)
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” – Elton John, Bernie Taupin (“Rocketman”)
“Into the Unknown” – Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez (“Frozen II”)
“Stand Up” – Joshuah Brian Campbell, Cynthia Erivo (“Harriet”)

Best Ensemble
“The Irishman”
“Knives Out”
“Little Women” WINNER
“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”

Best Foreign Language Film
“The Farewell”
“Long Day’s Journey Into Night”
“Pain and Glory”
“Parasite” WINNER
“Portrait of a Lady on Fire”

Breakthrough Award
Ana de Armas (“The Informer,” “Knives Out,” “Wasp Network”)
Awkwafina (“The Farewell,” “Jumanji: The Next Level,” “Paradise Hills”)
Julia Fox (“Uncut Gems”)
Kelvin Harrison Jr. (“Bolden,” “Gully,” “Luce,” “Waves,” “The Wolf Hour”)
George MacKay (“1917,” “A Guide to Second Date Sex,” “Nuclear,” “True History of the Kelly Gang”)
Florence Pugh (“Fighting With My Family,” “Little Women,” “Midsommar”) WINNER
Taylor Russell (“Escape Room,” “Waves”)

Best Animated Film
“Frozen II”
“How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”
“I Lost My Body”
“Missing Link”
“Toy Story 4” WINNER

Best Documentary Film
“American Factory”
“Apollo 11” WINNER
“The Biggest Little Farm”
“Love, Antosha”
“Midnight Family”

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema
“Avengers: Endgame” (Anthony Russo, Joe Russo, Christopher Markus, Stephen McFeely)
“Doctor Sleep” (Mike Flanagan)
“Ford v Ferrari” (James Mangold, Jez Butterworth, John-Henry Butterworth, Jason Keller)
“Greener Grass” (Jocelyn DeBoer, Dawn Luebbe)
“Gryphon Animo” (short; Matthew Maloney)
“Jumanji: The Next Level” (Jake Kasdan, Jeff Pinkner, Scott Rosenberg)
“Just Mercy” (Destin Daniel Cretton, Andrew Lanham)
“The Peanut Butter Falcon” (Tyler Nilson, Michael Schwartz) WINNER
“Reckoning” (Lane Skye, Ruckus Skye)
“Richard Jewell” (Clint Eastwood, Billy Ray)
“Summer Night” (Joseph Cross, Jordan Jolliff)

What do you think of the Georgia Film Critics Association winner? Comment below!

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Jessica Peña

Jessica Peña studied journalism at Volunteer State Community College before she began writing about film on a personal blog that sprouted from an electronic media course. She is now a film journalist for Awards Circuit, as well as a content editor and writer for the UK-based site JumpCut Online. She also loves the Child's Play/Chucky franchise with no end in sight.


Join the discussion. Share your comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


lil rel howery

Comedian Lil Rel Howery to Host 11th Annual AAFCA Awards

Lupita Nyongo Us 2

Critics Choice Awards Presenters Announced: Includes Lupita Nyong’o, Kelly Clarkson, Keegan-Michael Key, and More