Producers Guild to Honor ‘Get Out’ With 2018 Stanley Kramer Award


The Producers Guild of America announced on Wednesday that “Get Out” will receive the 2018 Stanley Kramer Award.

“Get Out” is a genre-crossing blend of horror and satire. It is the story of an interracial couple, Chris (Daniel Kaluuya) and Rose (Allison Williams), who visit her parents for the weekend. As Chris tries to feel comfortable with Rose’s overly welcoming family, he starts to sense that something isn’t quite right.

“Get Out” has been recognized by a number of critics groups as one of the best films of 2017. It has been nominated for two Golden Globe Awards, two SAG awards, and five Independent Spirit Awards. In addition, it has been nominated or won a number of additional awards from AFI to BFCA to the MTV Movie and TV Awards.

Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm Jr, and Jordan Peele produced the film. They are all members of the PGA. McKittrick and Hamm are considered a producing team, having worked together on films including “The Box” and “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.” Blum is the founder of Blumhouse Productions, the company behind “Insidious,” “The Conjuring,” and “Split.”

Established in 2002, the Stanley Kramer Award honors a production, producers, or individuals whose work “raises public awareness of important social issues.” The award was named for Stanley Kramer, a producer and director whose filmography includes “Inherit the Wind,” “The Defiant Ones,” and “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner.” Kramer was nominated for nine Academy Awards over his career, being honored in 1962 with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award.

PGA Chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal said:

The electrifying response to ‘Get Out’ demonstrates that the power of motion pictures to crystallize and reflect our collective social anxieties remains stronger than ever.  It’s hard to imagine two more different sensibilities approaching the problem of race in America than Stanley Kramer and Jordan Peele, but despite the different paths their stories take, their power springs from the same outrage, fearlessness and passion.

Past recipients of the Stanley Kramer Award include “Loving,” “The Normal Heart,” and “Fruitvale Station.”

The Stanley Kramer Award will be presented as part of the 29th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on January 20, 2018 in Los Angeles.