‘The Shape of Water’ Gets Awards Season Release Date


Guillermo del Toro‘s upcoming film, The Shape of Water,” will be released on December 8, according to The Hollywood Reporter.

The film stars Michael Shannon, Octavia Spencer, Michael Stuhlbarg, Sally Hawkins and more. Shannon, Spencer and Hawkins have all been nominated for Oscars. Spencer won for the 2011 film, “The Help.”

Set in the Cold War era of the sixties, the synopsis from Fox Searchlight reads:

In the hidden high-security government laboratory where she works, lonely Elisa (Sally Hawkins) is trapped in a life of silence and isolation.  Elisa’s life is changed forever when she and co-worker Zelda (Octavia Spencer) discover a secret classified experiment.

The screenplay was co-written by Del Toro and Vanessa Taylor. Del Toro was nominated for an Oscar for Original Screenplay when he wrote “Pan’s Labyrinth.” “Pan’s Labyrinth” was nominated for 6 Academy Awards overall, winning three. Taylor previously worked on “Game of Thrones” and other television projects.

“The Shape of Water” is the only release currently scheduled for December 8. That will likely change as the date draws closer.

Be sure to check back for the Awards Profile for “The Shape of Water.”

Tell us: Are you looking forward to “The Shape of Water?” Let us know in the comments or on the Message Boards!