In news that will whet your 90s nostalgia appetite (if you haven’t already had enough with the onslaught of The Lion King factoid-ridden anniversary pieces), Meg Ryan is possibly reteaming with Tom Hanks on the big screen, Sarah Jessica Parker and Natasha Lyonne are heading to the small screen (in separate ventures), and Dermot Mulroney will be headlining the latest (or third) Insidious installment.

1364045813-20110826_243_01sarahjessicaparkersexthedrought1999youve_got_mail_meg_ryan_tom_hanks

In what would mark the romcom duo’s first onscreen reunion since 1998’s You’ve Got Mail, Tom Hanks is “in talks” to join Meg Ryan’s upcoming directorial debut Ithaca in a more-or-less cameo capacity. Adapted by Band of Brothers scribe Erik Jendresen from the William Sayoran novel The Human Comedy, the film is set during WW2 and recounts the struggles of 14 year-old Homer Macaulay on the Home Front. With a brother serving and a deceased father, Homer takes up a part-time job as a telegram delivery boy and acts as the man of the house to his widow mother, older sister and younger brother Ulysses. If this starting to sound familiar, and not just because all of The Odyssey allusions, don’t worry, this isn’t deja vu. The novel was also the basis for the 1943 classic film The Human Comedy starring Mickey Rooney as Homer and won Sayoran the Academy Award for Best Story. (Literary sidenote: For those unfamiliar with Sayoran’s work, Stephen Fry dubbed him “one of the most underrated writers of the [20th] century” and he is certainly a top contender for best 20th century mustache.) But back to the project at hand… Filming is set to start shooting next month in Virginia (though the novel’s fictional “Ithaca, California” was based on Sayoran’s hometown of Fresno) and the confirmed cast includes Ryan (as mother Macaulay, played previously by Fay Bainter), Sam Shepard (in the Frank Morgan role), Melanie Griffith, Ryan’s son Jack Quaid (in the Van Johnson role), and relative newcomer Alex Neustaeder in the lead. (THR)

From one slightly faded America’s Sweetheart to another, Sarah Jessica Parker is also taking a new, albeit familiar, career route. Rather than reteaming for an apocalyptic Sex and the City 3, Parker will be back on the ol’ boob tube as one of two Rizzoli & Isles-style leads in the upcoming hour-long crime drama series Busted, based on the non-fiction book Busted: A Tale of Corruption and Betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love (which is described on its Amazon page as “In the vein of Erin Brockovich, The Departed, and T. J. English’s Savage City”). Penned by Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative journalists Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker, the book follows the duo’s investigation of one of the biggest police corruption scandals in Philadelphia’s history. With no official word on the other leading lady yet, feel free to hazard a guess or two in the comment section below. (If it hadn’t been for the news above, I would have semi-seriously guessed Meg Ryan. Just imagine — Corrupt cops overrunning your city? Never fear, Carrie Bradshaw and Kathleen Kelly are on their tails, with their Starbucks-es in hand and “technology savvy” handy. #TrueDetectiveSeason2) (TV.com/Deadline)

Natasha Lyonne, American PieDermot Mulroney, My Best Friend's Wedding

Whereas SJP helped put HBO on the map and make female protagonists a television norm, American Pie and Orange Is The New Black favorite Natasha Lyonne will be added to a show that’s been reaping the S&TC benefits, Girls. Joining a Girls Season Four guest-star roster including Zachary Quinto, Gillian Jacobs and Jason Ritter, Lyonne  will be playing a character named Rickey, and little else has been divulged about the character and/or arc, though HuffPo has made a few .gif-laden guesses. (TVLine)

Taking to twitter, Saw and Insidious director Leigh Wannell announced that Dermot Mulroney will be one of the leads in Insidious: Chapter 3. Little has been divulged about the upcoming production beyond this latest casting news, the Stefanie Scott casting news from earlier this month, and Wannell and Angus Sampson reprising their roles of Specs and Tucker. Set for a 2015 release, there’s no official word yet on whether the Lamberts (couple Rose Byrne and Patrick Wilson, mother Barbara Hershey) will return for a third time around the spooky mulberry bush. Considering Wilson’s interview with Indiewire last year (“I don’t know where else you go with Josh Lambert.”), we’re doubting it. (Deadline)

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.