in ,

Indiana Film Critics Winners – ‘The Hate U Give’ and Amandla Stenberg Takes the Reigns

As we eagerly await the Oscar shortlists later today, there are many more critics groups pushing to have their voices heard. Smaller groups can often go interesting ways with their choices, so hats off to the Indiana Film Journalists Association. The IFJA announced their winners and runners-up for the prizes last night. Among the big winners was “The Hate U Give” which won three prizes for Best Actress, Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Picture. “Roma,” hot off its release on Netflix, also scored a pair of wins. “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?” and “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse” continued their critical domination. The full list of winners and runners-up can be found below!

The 2018 IFJA Winners and Runners-Up

Best Film

Winner: “The Hate U Give” 
Runner-up: “Paddington 2” 
Other finalists (listed alphabetically): 
“Black Panther” 
“Eighth Grade” 
“First Reformed” 
“The Rider” 
“Sorry to Bother You” 
“A Star Is Born” 
“You Were Never Really Here”

Best Animated Feature

Winner: “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse” 
Runner-up: “Isle of Dogs”

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: “Roma” 
Runner-up: “Cold War”

Best Documentary

Winner: “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?” 
Runner-up: “Minding the Gap”

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Paul Schrader, “First Reformed” 
Runner-up: Bo Burnham, “Eighth Grade”

Best Adapted Screenplay 

Winner: Audrey Wells, “The Hate U Give” 
Runner-up: Eric Roth, Bradley Cooper, and Will Fetters, “A Star Is Born”

Best Director 

Winner: Alfonso Cuaron, “Roma” 
Runner-up: Lynne Ramsay, “You Were Never Really Here”

Best Actress

Winner: Amandla Stenberg, “The Hate U Give” 
Runner-up: Lady Gaga, “A Star Is Born”

Best Supporting Actress 

Winner: Regina King, “If Beale Street Could Talk” 
Runner-up: Olivia Colman, “The Favourite”

Best Actor

Winner: Ethan Hawke, “First Reformed”  
Runner-up: Bradley Cooper, “A Star Is Born”

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Sam Elliott, “A Star Is Born.” 
Runner-up: Jonah Hill, “Don’t Worry, He Won’t Get Far on Foot”

Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance

Winner: Josh Brolin, “Avengers: Infinity War” 
Runner-up: Ben Whishaw, “Paddington 2”

Best Ensemble Acting

Winner: “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs” 
Runner-up: “BlacKkKlansman”

Best Musical Score

Winner: Thom Yorke, “Suspiria” 
Runner-up: Jonny Greenwood, “You Were Never Really Here”

Breakout of the Year

Winner: Chloe Zhao, “The Rider” (writer-director) 
Runner-up: Elsie Fisher, “Eighth Grade” (actress)

Original Vision Award

Winner: “Sorry to Bother You” 
Runner-up: “Eighth Grade”

What do you think of the Indiana Film Journalist Association winners for 2018? Let us hear your thoughts below!  

Be sure to check out the Official Oscar Predictions Page to see where this year’s films and performances rank among the contenders!

What do you think?

AC Fan

Written by Alan French

Alan French is a movie buff, a TV lover, and a sports fanatic. His favorite TV shows are 'Parks and Recreation,' 'Rick and Morty' and 'Game of Thrones.' He's also a Spielberg fanatic. You can find him on Twitter and Medium @TheAlanFrench.

Utah Film Critics Winners: ‘Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse’ Takes Best Picture, Elsie Fisher Wins Actress

Logan Lerman in Talks To Headline Series ‘The Hunt’ for Amazon Studios