‘The English Patient’ and ‘Fargo’ Lead the 1996 Awards Circuit Community Awards Nominations


the-english-patientOne of the staples of the AwardsCircuit.com community is its very own Awards Circuit Community Awards (or ACCA) ceremony. As we vote on each year that moves forward, we also take the opportunity to vote on past film years. This month, we began the journey into 1996 where Anthony Minghella’s “The English Patient” won Best Picture at the Oscars. The community of more than 250,000 film lovers has spoken and the film led the nominations for the 1996 ACCA ceremony with twelve including Best Picture. Not far behind was Joel Coen’s (and Ethan Coen’s) “Fargo” which scored ten nominations. As the readers prove to have a mind of their own, William H. Macy, who was nominated for Best Supporting Actor at the Oscars, achieved a Lead Actor nomination, making way for co-star Steve Buscemi to be recognized in Supporting.

Cameron Crowe’s “Jerry Maguire” pulled in seven mentions including Renee Zellweger in Best Supporting Actress, who Oscar omitted in the year. Making a surprisingly strong showing was Danny Boyle’s “Trainspotting,” which nabbed six nominations including Picture, Director, and Supporting Actor for Robert Carlyle. Mike Leigh’s “Secrets & Lies” made a respectable showing with nods in the usual categories for Picture, Director, Lead Actress, and Supporting Actress.

Not all films can nab Best Picture mentions. Milos Forman’s “The People vs. Larry Flynt” popped up as the “Lone Director” – and pulled in mentions for Woody Harrelson and Courtney Love. Kenneth Branagh’s “Hamlet” made a strong showing in the technical categories while Baz Luhrmann’s “Romeo + Juliet” pulled in four nods including Best Cast Ensemble.

This was also an unprecedented year for ties. Six categories ended up with six nominees, the most in ACCA history. This could propel a long overdue conversation regarding ties and if they should be dealt with accordingly.

Check out the full list of nominees below. Final voting will open on Wednesday and will remain open until Sunday afternoon at 5:00 pm Eastern Time. Speak your thoughts about the nominees (and your FYC’s) in the comments section.

Best Motion Picture
“The English Patient” – Saul Zaentz (producer)
“Fargo” – Ethan Coen (producer)
“Jerry Maguire” – James L. Brooks, Cameron Crowe, Laurence Mark, Richard Sakai (producers)
“Secrets & Lies” – Simon Channing Williams (producer)
“Trainspotting” – Andrew Macdonald (producer)

Best Director
Danny Boyle – “Trainspotting”
Joel Coen – “Fargo”
Cameron Crowe – “Jerry Maguire”
Milos Forman – “The People vs. Larry Flynt”
Mike Leigh – “Secrets & Lies”
Anthony Minghella – “The English Patient”

Best Actor
Tom Cruise – “Jerry Maguire”
Ralph Fiennes – “The English Patient”
Woody Harrelson – “The People vs. Larry Flynt”
William H. Macy – “Fargo”
Geoffrey Rush – “Shine”

Best Actress
Brenda Blethlyn – “Secrets & Lies”
Diane Keaton – “Marvin’s Room”
Frances McDormand – “Fargo”
Winona Ryder – “The Crucible”
Kristin Scott Thomas – “The English Patient”
Emily Watson – “Breaking the Waves”

Best Supporting Actor
Steve Buscemi – “Fargo”
Robert Carlyle – “Trainspotting”
Cuba Gooding, Jr. – “Jerry Maguire”
Nathan Lane – “The Birdcage”
Edward Norton – “Primal Fear”

Best Supporting Actress
Joan Allen – “The Crucible”
Juliette Binoche – “The English Patient”
Marianne Jean-Baptiste – “Secrets & Lies”
Courtney Love – “The People vs. Larry Flynt”
Kate Winslet – “Hamlet”
Renee Zellweger – “Jerry Maguire”

Best Original Screenplay
Fargo” – Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
Jerry Maguire” – Cameron Crowe
The People vs. Larry Flynt” – Milos Forman
Secrets & Lies” – Mike Leigh
Scream” – Kevin Williamson

Best Adapted Screenplay
The Birdcage” – Francis Veber, Édouard Molinaro, Marcello Danon, Jean Poiret, Elaine May
The Crucible” – Arthur Miller
The English Patient” – Anthony Minghella
Hamlet” – Kenneth Branagh
Trainspotting” – John Hodge

Best Art Direction
The Birdcage” – Bo Welch, Cheryl Carasik
The English Patient” – Stuart Craig, Stephenie McMillan
Evita” – Brian Morris, Philippe Turlure
Hamlet” – Tim Harvey
Romeo + Juliet” – Catherine Martin, Brigitte Broch

Best Cinematography
The English Patient” – John Seale
Fargo” – Roger Deakins
Hamlet” – Alex Thomson
Romeo + Juliet” – Donald M. McAlpine
Trainspotting” – Brian Tufano

Best Costume Design
101 Dalmatians” – Rosemary Burrows, Anthony Powell
The English Patient” – Ann Roth
Evita” – Penny Rose
Hamlet” – Alexandra Byrne
Romeo + Juliet” – Kym Barrett

Best Film Editing
The English Patient” – Walter Murch
Fargo” – Roderick Jaynes
Independence Day” – David Brenner
Jerry Maguire” – Joe Hutshing
Mission: Impossible” – Paul Hirsch
Trainspotting” – Masahiro Hirakubo

Best Sound
“The English Patient”
“Independence Day”
“Mission: Impossible”

Best Visual Effects
“Independence Day”
“Mars Attacks!”
“Mission: Impossible”
“Star Trek: First Contact”

Best Original Score
The English Patient” – Gabriel Yared
Fargo” – Carter Burwell
Hamlet” – Patrick Doyle
The Hunchback of Notre Dame” – Alan Menken
Shine” – David Hirschfelder

Best Foreign Language Film
The Eighth Day” (Belgium)
Kolya” (Czech Republic)
The Other Side of Sunday” (Norway)
Prisoner of the Mountains” (Russia)
Ridicule” (France)

Best Cast Ensemble
The Crucible” – Daniel Day-Lewis; Winona Ryder; Joan Allen; Paul Scofield; Bruce Davison; Rob Campbell; Jeffrey Jones; Frances Conroy; Charlayne Woodard
Don’t Be a Menace to South Central While Drinking Your Juice in the Hood” – Marlon Wayans; Shawn Wayans; Tracey Cherelle Jones; Chris Spencer; Suli McCullough; Helen Martin; Lahmard J. Tate; Darrel Heath
Fargo” – William H. Macy; Frances McDormand; Steve Buscemi; Peter Stormare; Kristin Rudrüd; Harve Presnell; 
Ghosts of Mississippi” – Alec Baldwin; Whoopi Goldberg; James Woods; Virginia Madsen; Craig T. Nelson; Lucas Black; William H. Macy; Susanna Thompson
Ransom” – Mel Gibson; Rene Russo; Delroy Lindo; Gary Sinise; Liev Schreiber; Lily Taylor; Barwley Nolte; Evan Handler; Donnie Wahlberg
Romeo + Juliet” – Leonardo DiCaprio; Claire Danes; John Leguizamo; Pete Postlethwaite; Harold Perrineau; Paul Sorvino; Diane Venora; Brian Dennehy; Vondie Curtis-Hall; Miriam Margolyes; Jamie Kennedy; Dash Mihok

Honorable Mentions
The Birdcage” – Mike Nichols
Breaking the Waves” – Lars von Trier
The Crucible” – Nicholas Hytner
Hamlet” – Kenneth Branagh
The Hunchback of Notre Dame” – Gary Trousdale, Kirk Wise
The People vs. Larry Flynt” – Milos Forman
Primal Fear” – Gregory Hoblit
Romeo + Juliet” – Baz Luhrmann
Scream” – Wes Craven
Sling Blade” – Billy Bob Thornton