in ,

‘The Hate U Give’ Tops LAOFCS 2018 Awards

The hate U Give Algee Smith Amanda Stenberg

The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society (LAOFCS) announced their winners for 2018. “The Hate U Give” was their most celebrated film, winning Best Picture, Best Supporting Actor, and Best Adapted Screenplay. The film’s star, Amandla Stenberg, also won for Breakthrough Performance.

Lynne Ramsay (“You Were Never Really Here”) and Spike Lee (“BlacKkKlansman”) share directing prizes for Best Female and Male Directors.

Mission: Impossible – Fallout” took two prizes, for Stunts and Action Film. And “Black Panther” won for Best Blockbuster. Other films winning big prizes include “Bohemian Rhapsody,” “The Favourite,” and “Hereditary.”

Best Picture:

“The Hate U Give” (Fox)

Best Actor:

Rami Malek – “Bohemian Rhapsody” (Fox)

Best Actress:

Toni Collette – “Hereditary” (A24)

Best Supporting Actor: (TIE)

Mahershala Ali – “Green Book” (Universal)

Russell Hornsby – “The Hate U Give” (Fox)

Best Supporting Actress:

Regina King – “If Beale Street Could Talk” (Annapurna)

Best Performance by an Actor 23 and Under: (TIE)

Lucas Hedges – “Ben Is Back” (Roadside Attractions)

Alex Wolff – “Hereditary” (A24)

Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under:

Elsie Fisher – “Eighth Grade” (A24)

Best Breakthrough Performance:

Amandla Stenberg – “The Hate U Give” (Fox)

Best Cast:

“The Favourite” (Fox Searchlight)

Best Female Director:

Lynne Ramsey – “You Were Never Really Here” (Amazon)

Best Male Director:

Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman (Focus)

Best Adapted Screenplay:

Audrey Wells – “The Hate U Give” (Fox)

Best Original Screenplay:

Adam McKay – “Vice” (Annapurna)

Best Action Film:

“Mission: Impossible – Fallout” (Paramount)

Best Animated Film:

“Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse” (Sony)

Best Blockbuster:

“Black Panther” (Disney)

Best Comedy/Musical:

“The Favourite” (Fox Searchlight)

Best Documentary:

“Won’t You Be My Neighbor?” (Focus)

Best First Feature:

“Eighth Grade” (A24)

Best Foreign Film:

“Roma” (Netflix)

Best Indie Film:

“Eighth Grade” (A24)

Best Sci-Fi/Horror:

“A Quiet Place” (Paramount)

Best Cinematography:

Alfonso Cuarón – “Roma” (Netflix)

Best Editing:

Nicholas D. Johnson and Will Merrick – “Searching” (Sony)

Best Original Song:

Shallow – “A Star is Born” (Warner Brothers)

Best Score:

Nicholas Britell – “If Beale Street Could Talk” (Annapurna)

Best Stunts:

“Mission: Impossible – Fallout” (Paramount)

Best Visual Effects:

“Avengers: Infinity War” (Disney)

Best Visual Effects or Animated Performance:

Josh Brolin and Digital Domain – “Avengers: Infinity War” (Disney)

All awards will be presented at a ceremony in Los Angeles on January 9, 2019.

Be sure to check out our Official Oscar Predictions Page to see our current rankings in all categories!

Circuit Hub

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Karen M. Peterson

Karen Peterson is a writer from Southern California. When she is not at the ballpark cheering on her LA Angels, she can usually be found in a movie theater or in front of the television. Karen is obsessed with awards shows, and loves everything from the smallest indie film to the biggest of big budget spectacles. She is also unapologetically in love with Tom Cruise.


Leave a Reply

    Join the discussion. Share your comments.

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


    kendrick sza all the stars black panther video

    The Grammys Announce Nominations, Both ‘All the Stars’ and ‘Shallow’ Earn Record of the Year Noms

    canyoueverforgiveme 02

    Directed by Women: 2018’s Unsung Awards Contenders in the Crafts (Part 1 of 3)