Tom Hiddleston, Helen Mirren Win Big at U.K.’s National Film Awards

Tom Hiddleston

Tom Hiddleston

U.K. movie fans have spoken, and Tom Hiddleston is officially their favorite actor of the year. The “Avengers” star won best actor at the second annual National Film Awards U.K. on Monday night.

The awards, which were given out at the Porchester Hall in London and presented by the National Film Academy, are completely voted on by film fans.

Helen Mirren won the first award of the night – the Lifetime Achievement Award – which she accepted via video from New York. In her acceptance video, she said, “I feel truly honored to be awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by the National Film Academy. I am proud to be a member of the National Film Awards winners list and thank you to all the movie fans for voting for me.”

Hiddleston won best actor for his role in “High-Rise.” Natalie Emmanuel took home best actress honors for “Fast and Furious 7.”

Rise of the Footsoldier II” stunned by beating out presumed favorite “Spectre” in the best British film category.

Other big winners included John Boyega, who won the best breakthrough performance in a film award for “Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” and Taron Egerton, who took home the best newcomer prize for starring in last year’s “Kingsman: The Secret Service” and this year’s “Eddie the Eagle.”

“Kingsman” had a good night overall, as the film also took home best international film and best supporting actor (Samuel L. Jackson) honors. Jackson also took home the award for global contribution to motion picture, beating out the likes of Denzel Washington, Meryl Streep, Ben Kingsley, Leonardo DiCaprio, Michael Caine, Kevin Spacey, Harrison Ford and Hugh Grant.

Man Up” took best comedy, beating out “The Lobster” and “The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.” Stephen Fingleton (“The Survivalist”) won best director. “Son of Saul” won for best foreign language.

The late Alan Rickman was honored with a video tribute and a National Film Academy fellowship award.

Over 2.9 million fans voted on the awards. Public nominations for next year’s awards begin in October.