in ,

Utah Film Critics Winners: ‘Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse’ Takes Best Picture, Elsie Fisher Wins Actress

Spider Man Into the Spider Verse Jake Johnson Peter Parker


            In their annual meeting, the members of the Utah Film Critics Association recognized Spider-man: Into the Spider-Verse with three awards, including Best Picture of 2018. The film was also honored as Best Animated Feature, and for the Adapted Screenplay by Phil Lord & Rodney Rothman.

            Roma also received three awards: Alfonso Cuarón for Directing and Cinematography, and for Best Non-English Language Feature.

            In performance categories, Elsie Fisher was named in the Lead Performance, Female category for Eighth Grade, which also received Original Screenplay honors for Bo Burnham. Ethan Hawke received Best Lead Performance, Male for First Reformed; while Oliva Colman received Best Supporting Performance, Female as Queen Anne in The Favourite. In Best Supporting Performance, Male, there was a tie between Russell Hornsby for The Hate U Give and Hugh Grant for Paddington 2.

            Other winners include Annihilation’s Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury for Best Original Score, and Won’t You Be My Neighbor? for Best Documentary Feature.

            The Utah Film Critics Association is made up of Utah-based film journalists contributing to print, broadcast and online outlets. For membership and other information, visit


Best Picture: Spider-man: Into the Spider-Verse. Runner-up: Roma

Best Achievement in Directing: Alfonso Cuarón, Roma. Runner-up: Ryan Coogler, Black Panther

Best Lead Performance, Male: Ethan Hawke, First Reformed. Runner-up: Christian Bale, Vice

Best Lead Performance, Female: Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade. Runner-up: Lady Gaga, A Star Is Born

Best Supporting Performance, Female: Olivia Colman, The Favourite. Runner-up: Elizabeth Debicki, Widows

Best Supporting Performance, Male: Russell Hornsby, The Hate U Give and Hugh Grant, Paddington 2 (tie)

Best Original Screenplay: Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade. Runner-up: Deborah Davis & Tony McNamara, The Favourite

Best Adapted Screenplay: Phil Lord & Rodney Rothman, Spider-man: Into the Spider-Verse. Runner-up: Audrey Wells, The Hate U Give

Best Cinematography: Alfonso Cuarón, Roma. Runner-up: Rob Hardy, Annihilation

Best Original Score: Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury, Annihilation. Runner-up: Nicholas Britell, If Beale Street Could Talk

Best Documentary Feature: Won’t You Be My Neighbor? Runner-up: Minding the Gap

Best Animated Feature: Spider-man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Non-English Language Feature: Roma. Runner-up: Burning

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.


Join the discussion. Share your comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Film Review: ‘Memoir of War’ Is a Painful Reflection on World War II

The hate U Give Algee Smith Amanda Stenberg

Indiana Film Critics Winners – ‘The Hate U Give’ and Amandla Stenberg Takes the Reigns